Death in Avignon by Serena Kent audiobook

Death in Avignon: A Penelope Kite Novel

By Serena Kent
Read by Antonia Beamish

HarperAudio, HarperCollins 9780062869890

The Penelope Kite Series: Book 2

9.76 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062989697

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781094115511

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781094115528

Set amidst the gorgeous backdrop of Provence, Serena Kent’s second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite series finds the amateur sleuth romantically linked with the mayor of St. Merlot and dashing to solve the murder of an expat artist—perfect for fans of Peter Mayle and Agatha Christie. After an eventful first few months in Provence, it seems Penelope is finally settling into her delightful new life, complete with a gorgeous love interest in the mayor of St. Merlot. When Penelope and the mayor attend a glamorous gallery opening, Penelope’s biggest worry is embarrassing herself in front of her date. But the evening takes a horrifying turn when a controversial expat painter, Roland Doncaster, chokes to death. A tragic accident? Or a malicious plot? Reluctantly drawn into the murder investigation, Penelope discovers that any number of jealous lovers and scheming rivals could be involved. And with dashing art dealers to charm, patisseries to resist, and her own friends under suspicion, Penelope will need to draw upon all her sleuthing talents to uncover the truth. Set against the stunning vistas of Provence, Serena Kent returns with the second installment of her charming mystery series featuring the unflappable Penelope Kite.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Set amidst the gorgeous backdrop of Provence, Serena Kent’s second book in the deliciously entertaining Penelope Kite series finds the amateur sleuth romantically linked with the mayor of St. Merlot and dashing to solve the murder of an expat artist—perfect for fans of Peter Mayle and Agatha Christie.

After an eventful first few months in Provence, it seems Penelope is finally settling into her delightful new life, complete with a gorgeous love interest in the mayor of St. Merlot.

When Penelope and the mayor attend a glamorous gallery opening, Penelope’s biggest worry is embarrassing herself in front of her date. But the evening takes a horrifying turn when a controversial expat painter, Roland Doncaster, chokes to death.

A tragic accident? Or a malicious plot? Reluctantly drawn into the murder investigation, Penelope discovers that any number of jealous lovers and scheming rivals could be involved. And with dashing art dealers to charm, patisseries to resist, and her own friends under suspicion, Penelope will need to draw upon all her sleuthing talents to uncover the truth.

Set against the stunning vistas of Provence, Serena Kent returns with the second installment of her charming mystery series featuring the unflappable Penelope Kite.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Outstanding…[Kent] creates an appealing community for this winning stranger in a strange land…Armchair travelers will be well satisfied.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Antonia Beamish returns to narrate the second Penelope Kite mystery, set in beautiful Provence. Beamish adroitly handles both British and French accents…Beamish provides the over-the-top characters, both men and women, with distinctive voices. Listeners will enjoy this delightful romp in Provence with Penny and friends, who munch on croissants while snooping around places where they aren’t welcome.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Serena Kent

Author Bio: Serena Kent

Serena Kent is the nom de plume of Deborah Lawrenson and her husband Robert Rees. They met at Cambridge University and pursued completely different careers, she in journalism and fiction; he in banking and music. They live in a house full of books in England and an old hamlet in Provence which is also in dire need of more bookshelves.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.76
Audience: Adult
Language: English