Death in Brittany by Jean-Luc Bannalec audiobook

Death in Brittany

By Jean-Luc Bannalec
Translated by Sorcha McDonagh
Read by Jean Brassard

Blackstone Publishing 9781250061744

The Commissaire Dupin Series: Book 1

8.85 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504756204

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504756211

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781504756181

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781504756198

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Commissaire Georges Dupin, a Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque) Breton coast, is not happy when he is dragged from his morning croissant and coffee to the scene of a curious murder. The local village of Pont-Aven—a sleepy community by the sea where everyone knows one other and nothing much seems to happen—is in shock. The legendary ninety-one-year-old hotelier Pierre-Louis Pennec, owner of the Central Hotel, has been found dead. A picture-perfect seaside village which played host to Gauguin in the nineteenth century, Pont-Aven is at the height of its tourist season and is immediately thrown into an uproar. Dupin and his team identify five principal suspects, including a rising political star, a longtime friend of the victim, and a wealthy art historian. An obstinate detective whose unconventional methods include good food, good wine, and taking in plenty of sea air, Dupin finds his case further complicated when ongoing incidents compound the mystery. As he delves further into the lives of the victim and the suspects, he uncovers a web of secrecy and silence that belies the village’s quaint image. A delectable mystery, Death in Brittany transports listeners to the French coast, where you can practically smell the sea air and taste the perfectly cooked steak-frites.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Commissaire Georges Dupin, a Parisian-born caffeine junkie recently relocated from the glamour of Paris to the remote (if picturesque) Breton coast, is not happy when he is dragged from his morning croissant and coffee to the scene of a curious murder. The local village of Pont-Aven—a sleepy community by the sea where everyone knows one other and nothing much seems to happen—is in shock. The legendary ninety-one-year-old hotelier Pierre-Louis Pennec, owner of the Central Hotel, has been found dead.

A picture-perfect seaside village which played host to Gauguin in the nineteenth century, Pont-Aven is at the height of its tourist season and is immediately thrown into an uproar. Dupin and his team identify five principal suspects, including a rising political star, a longtime friend of the victim, and a wealthy art historian. An obstinate detective whose unconventional methods include good food, good wine, and taking in plenty of sea air, Dupin finds his case further complicated when ongoing incidents compound the mystery. As he delves further into the lives of the victim and the suspects, he uncovers a web of secrecy and silence that belies the village’s quaint image.

A delectable mystery, Death in Brittany transports listeners to the French coast, where you can practically smell the sea air and taste the perfectly cooked steak-frites.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Roll over Maigret. Commissaire Dupin has arrived.” M. C. Beaton, New York Times bestselling author
“Jean-Luc Bannalec…has channeled his affection for the westernmost region of France into a charming first mystery.” New York Times Book Review
“Bannalec excels at plotting and pacing, as well as vivid descriptions of the Finistère countryside.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“The pseudonymous author brings the charming Breton towns of Concarneau and Pont-Aven to life with his vivid descriptions of the landscape, architecture, and regional food…An excellent choice for readers who enjoy international mysteries as well as for fans of Donna Leon, Louise Penny, and Georges Simenon.” Library Journal (starred review)
“A setting to die for…Dupin is fascinating to watch…The star of the mystery, though, is Brittany.” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

by JEAN PALMER 1/27/2018
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Magical mystery and quirkiness of Brittany -like Montalbano only in Britany

*Jean-Luc Bannalec.. Translated by Sorcha McDonagh. Death in Brittany. The Commissaire Dupin Series, Book 1. Read by Jean Brassard. 8 CDs. 9 hrs. Blackstone Audio. 2012/2014. 978-1-5047-5618-1.
*Jean-Luc Bannalec. Translated by Sorcha McDonagh. Murder on Brittany Shores. The Commissaire Dupin Series, Book 2. Read by Jean Brassard. 9 CDs. 10.5 hrs. Blackstone Audio. 2016. 978-1-5047-5611-2.
Death in Brittany is the first in a planned series of police procedural mystery series centered on Commissaire Georges Dupin, a talented detective relocated from Paris to the coast of Brittany in France. Dupin is very much an outsider in Brittany and is resigned to always being so. He likes his routine - several cups of strong coffee and several newspapers in the morning. He depends heavily on his assistant Nolwenn, who knows all there is to know about Brittany - people of note, history, myths, food history - or how to find out what she doesn't know.
In Death in Brittany Commissaire Dupin's morning is interupted by the death of a famous local hotelier. As Dupin interviews family and friends of the victim, he uncovers multiple motives, many suspects and an increasingly complex mystery that also includes a painting by Gauguin, that may or may not be an original worth many millions of Euros. But why would an original Gauguin have been in a small elegant hotel on the Brittany Coast for more than 100 years and yet no one recognized it?
In Murder on Brittany Shores, the second in the series, three bodies are washed up on one of the islands of The Glenan, an archipelago of islands about ten nautical miles off the mainland of Brittany. Commissaire Dupin rushes out by boat and is immediately enchanted by the magic of The Glenan as he jumps off the boat into the water with his shoes on. "The Glenan were not clearly land, they were an ambiguous middle-ground, half land, half sea." The Glenan is also the home of the world's most famous sailing school and of a well known diving school. Dupin's assistants eventually join him as it is discovered that the three victims were actually murdered.
Like the coastal towns, the Glenan are as much central characters as are Commissaire Dupin, his assistants and the residents of the island.Jean-Luc Bannalec's descriptions are breathtaking - beautiful deserted white sandy beaches, washed clean every day with the tides; crystal clear, opal colored waters; schools of playful dolphins; hundreds of shipwrecks that go back centuries. I looked up The Glenan on Google. They're real, unlike the wonderfully drawn characters in the story. Dupin joyfully discovers the special food of the islands, including the very tasty blue lobster native to the area. Forced to remain on the islands longer than he had planned because of strong, foul weather he also gets to swoon over a a specialty of Brittany "cotriade," a fish stew, served over a fresh toasted baguette (made without shellfish unlike bouillabaise of southern France).
Narrator Jean Brassard, an experienced Canadian actor and voice over narrator, born in Quebec, has a distinct accent that captures many unique regional Breton voices as well as Dupin's focused impatience and quirkiness. He also captures Dupin's enjoyment of the little coastal villages, most especially the local restaurants, and the magic of Brittany. Brassard's s reading also brings out the smell of the sea air as well as taste of the unique dishes. Highly recommended.
With its charming characters and special place, this series reminded me of Andrea Camilleri's wonderful detective Montalbano series set in Sicily, also from Blackstone. The mystery is as carefully detailed as well. Jean Palmer, Editor, SoundCommentary.com. Editor's Pick of the month.

Author

Author Bio: Jean-Luc Bannalec

Author Bio: Jean-Luc Bannalec

Jean-Luc Bannalec is a pseudonym. The author divides his time between Germany and coastal Brittany in northwestern France. Death in Brittany, the first case for Commissaire Dupin, was published in Germany in 2012, where it sold six hundred thousand copies, spending many months on the bestseller list. It has been sold in over a dozen countries.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.85
Audience: Adult
Language: English