Dogs Don’t Lie

By Clea Simon
A Poisoned Pen Press Mystery
Read by Tavia Gilbert

The Pru Marlowe Pet Noir Series: Book 1

8.98 Hours 04/05/2011 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781470801571

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482134964

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441782625

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441782632

Pru Marlowe isn’t your ordinary animal psychic. A tough girl on the run from her own gift, Pru left the big city to return to her picturesque Berkshires hometown looking for a little peace. Too bad her training as an animal behaviorist got her mixed up with Lily, a rescue dog, and Charles, the dog’s guardian. Now Charles is dead, and Lily appears to be headed for the same end, for Lily is a pit bull, a fighting-ring dropout, and is far too traumatized to give Pru a clear picture of what she has witnessed. But Pru knows something about bad girls trying to clean up, and, with a sense of justice strong enough to overcome her dislike of human society, she takes the case. Listening to the animals, Pru picks up clues and learns there are secrets in the pretty little town that make murder look simple. Unable to tell anyone about her psychic abilities, and uncertain at times about her own sanity, Pru comes to realize that if she clears Lily, she’ll likely become the prime suspect—or the next victim. While the only creature she can totally trust is her crotchety tabby cat, Wallis, Pru must uncover the real killer—and find a way to live with her gift—before the real beasts in the town maul her and those she has come to love.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Pru Marlowe isn’t your ordinary animal psychic. A tough girl on the run from her own gift, Pru left the big city to return to her picturesque Berkshires hometown looking for a little peace. Too bad her training as an animal behaviorist got her mixed up with Lily, a rescue dog, and Charles, the dog’s guardian. Now Charles is dead, and Lily appears to be headed for the same end, for Lily is a pit bull, a fighting-ring dropout, and is far too traumatized to give Pru a clear picture of what she has witnessed. But Pru knows something about bad girls trying to clean up, and, with a sense of justice strong enough to overcome her dislike of human society, she takes the case.

Listening to the animals, Pru picks up clues and learns there are secrets in the pretty little town that make murder look simple. Unable to tell anyone about her psychic abilities, and uncertain at times about her own sanity, Pru comes to realize that if she clears Lily, she’ll likely become the prime suspect—or the next victim. While the only creature she can totally trust is her crotchety tabby cat, Wallis, Pru must uncover the real killer—and find a way to live with her gift—before the real beasts in the town maul her and those she has come to love.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Her clever thirteen-year-old tabby, Wallis, provides snarky paws-on assistance…but [Pru’s] no slouch as a detective.” Publishers Weekly
“Will touch the heart of cat lovers everywhere…Watch this series closely. It could well sprint to the top of the animal-cozy genre.” Booklist (starred review)
“A delightful new pet series that will appeal to fans of Shirley Rousseau Murphy and Rita Mae Brown.” Library Journal
 “Surprisingly creative twists.” Kirkus Reviews
“Bravo!  Pet noire has arrived!” Linda L. Richards, author of Death Was in the Picture

Reviews

Reviews

Only registered users can write reviews. Please, log in or register

Author

Author Bio: Clea Simon

Clea Simon is a writer, journalist, and regular contributor to the New York Times, Boston Globe, San Francisco Chronicle, Rolling Stone, and Salon. She is the author of the Theda Krakow Mysteries, the Dulcie Schwartz Mysteries, the Pru Marlowe Pet Noir series, and the Blackie and Care Mysteries, as well as a few works of nonfiction.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.98
Audience: Adult
Edition: English