Down and Across by Arvin Ahmadi audiobook

Down and Across

By Arvin Ahmadi
Read by Assaf Cohen

Listening Library
7.05 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $20.00

    Special Price $19.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780525589792

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Discover the secret to success in this incisively funny debut, for fans of John Corey Whaley, David Arnold, and Ned Vizzini! "Quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable." --Khaled Hosseini, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Kite Runner Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. Writing the Great American Novel? Three chapters. His summer internship? One week. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can't commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming, Scott's parents pressure him to get serious about a career path like engineering or medicine. Desperate for help, he sneaks off to Washington, DC, to seek guidance from a famous professor who specializes in grit, the psychology of success. He never expects an adventure to unfold out of what was supposed to be a one-day visit. But that's what Scott gets when he meets Fiora Buchanan, a ballsy college student whose life ambition is to write crossword puzzles. When the bicycle she lends him gets Scott into a high-speed chase, he knows he's in for the ride of his life. Soon, Scott finds himself sneaking into bars, attempting to pick up girls at the National Zoo, and even giving the crossword thing a try--all while opening his eyes to fundamental truths about who he is and who he wants to be.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Publishers Weekly Pick of YA Books That Explore the Immigrant Experience

Discover the secret to success in this incisively funny debut, for fans of John Corey Whaley, David Arnold, and Ned Vizzini! "Quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable." --Khaled Hosseini, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Kite Runner Scott Ferdowsi has a track record of quitting. Writing the Great American Novel? Three chapters. His summer internship? One week. His best friends know exactly what they want to do with the rest of their lives, but Scott can't commit to a breakfast cereal, let alone a passion. With college applications looming, Scott's parents pressure him to get serious about a career path like engineering or medicine. Desperate for help, he sneaks off to Washington, DC, to seek guidance from a famous professor who specializes in grit, the psychology of success. He never expects an adventure to unfold out of what was supposed to be a one-day visit. But that's what Scott gets when he meets Fiora Buchanan, a ballsy college student whose life ambition is to write crossword puzzles. When the bicycle she lends him gets Scott into a high-speed chase, he knows he's in for the ride of his life. Soon, Scott finds himself sneaking into bars, attempting to pick up girls at the National Zoo, and even giving the crossword thing a try--all while opening his eyes to fundamental truths about who he is and who he wants to be.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Arvin Ahmadi’s voice will be a dynamic entry into YA literature. Down and Across is a thrilling game-changer that touches on the universal journey of self-discovery with a deft hand and riotous humor.” Adam Silvera, New York Times bestselling author
“Arvin Ahmadi’s earnest debut is a charming romp of a book, a heartfelt tour of a city through the bright eyes of a hopeful heart. Ahmadi proves his grit and then some with Down and Across." David Arnold, New York Times bestselling author
“Arvin Ahmadi’s novel shares a lot in common with its irrepressible hero, Saaket. It’s quirky and charming, wise and unpredictable, and, dare I say it, full of big-hearted grit.” Khaled Hosseini, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Arvin Ahmadi

Author Bio: Arvin Ahmadi

Arvin Ahmadi grew up outside Washington, DC. He graduated from Columbia University and has worked in the tech industry. When he’s not reading or writing books, he can be found watching late-night talk show interviews and editing Wikipedia pages.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Humor
Runtime: 7.05
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English