Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia audiobook

Eliza and Her Monsters

By Francesca Zappia
Read by Caitlin Kelly  and Kate Rudd

Greenwillow Books, HarperCollins 9780062290137
8.85 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062911438

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781982656621

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982656638

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.”—Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times–bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble. Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.”—School Library Journal In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. Will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl. Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten Kirkus Best Book Texas Tayshas Pick

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.”—Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times–bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of the wildly popular webcomic Monstrous Sea, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl meets Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona in this acclaimed novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. “A must-have.”—School Library Journal

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community.

Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart.

Will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Young Adult Library Services Association Best Book

Best Fiction for Young Adults Top Ten

Kirkus Best Book

Texas Tayshas Pick

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical.” Marieke Nijkamp, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“Zappia’s lighter approach…doesn’t diminish the strength of this sensitive and compassionate story or the message mirrored in the themes of the webcomic: there are monsters in the world, both real and imaginary, and without support systems, those monsters can cause great harm.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Zappia’s work will resonate with teens who write, create art, and love fandoms. Introverted readers will connect with the protagonist.” School Library Journal
“In her sophomore novel, Zappia gracefully examines Eliza’s complicated struggle with anxiety, depression, and even suicidal thoughts…A fervent celebration of online fandom, sure to leave readers craving an actual Monstrous Sea comic.” Booklist (starred review)
“A wrenching depiction of depression and anxiety, respectful to fandom, online-only friendships, and the benefits and dangers of internet fame.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Francesca Zappia

Author Bio: Francesca Zappia

Francesca Zappia is the author of Now Entering Addamsville, Made You Up, and The Children of Hypnos, a biweekly serial novel posted on Tumblr and Wattpad.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.85
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English