Elizabeth & Margaret by Andrew Morton audiobook

Elizabeth & Margaret: The Intimate World of the Windsor Sisters

By Andrew Morton
Read by Marisa Calin

Grand Central Publishing 9781538700464
10.96 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549178047

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $40.00

    Special Price $26.00

    ISBN: 9781549178054

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight. They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes. Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system—and her fraught relationship with its expectations—was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover. From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters—one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it—and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Crown, this captivating biography from a New York Times bestselling author follows Queen Elizabeth II and her sister Margaret as they navigate life in the royal spotlight.

They were the closest of sisters and the best of friends. But when, in a quixotic twist of fate, their uncle Edward Vlll decided to abdicate the throne, the dynamic between Elizabeth and Margaret was dramatically altered. Forever more Margaret would have to curtsey to the sister she called 'Lillibet.' And bow to her wishes.

Elizabeth would always look upon her younger sister's antics with a kind of stoical amusement, but Margaret's struggle to find a place and position inside the royal system—and her fraught relationship with its expectations—was often a source of tension. Famously, the Queen had to inform Margaret that the Church and government would not countenance her marrying a divorcee, Group Captain Peter Townsend, forcing Margaret to choose between keeping her title and royal allowances or her divorcee lover.

From the idyll of their cloistered early life, through their hidden war-time lives, into the divergent paths they took following their father's death and Elizabeth's ascension to the throne, this book explores their relationship over the years. Andrew Morton's latest biography offers unique insight into these two drastically different sisters—one resigned to duty and responsibility, the other resistant to it—and the lasting impact they have had on the Crown, the royal family, and the ways it adapted to the changing mores of the 20th century.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Morton examines in this vibrant history the ‘push-and-pull between…deep love and primal jealousy’ that bonded Queen Elizabeth II and her younger sister, Princess Margaret…Royal watchers will be enthralled.” Publishers Weekly
“Thoroughly researched and well written, the most comprehensive account of the complex relationship between the Queen and Princess Margaret to date.” Sarah Bradford, New York Times bestselling author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Andrew Morton

Author Bio: Andrew Morton

Andrew Morton is one of the world’s best-known biographers and a leading authority on modern celebrity. His groundbreaking 1992 biography Diana: Her True Story became a New York Times bestseller, as did Monica’s Story, 17 Carnations, and Angelina. He is the winner of numerous awards, including Author of the Year by the British Book Awards and Scoop of the Year by the London Press Club. He lives in London and travels extensively in the United States, Canada, and Europe in his research for the biographies.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 10.96
Audience: Adult
Language: English