Evangeline of the Bayou by Jan Eldredge audiobook

Evangeline of the Bayou

By Jan Eldredge
Read by Tara Sands

Balzer + Bray 9780062680341
6.95 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062840660

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781538498019

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538498002

A spooky, funny middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Kate Messner, and Natalie Lloyd. Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants. With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors. But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots. Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A spooky, funny middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Kate Messner, and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline’s is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Evangeline is a delightful heroine, right down to the silver tips of her boots.” Cassie Beasley, New York Times bestselling author
“A finely tuned tale that integrates humor and suspense, light mythology, and magic…Both spirited and plagued by self-doubt, Evangeline makes an interesting protagonist, whom readers will rally behind.” Booklist
“A worthwhile read about a strong girl who embraces the power of knowledge but also heeds Gran’s advice to ‘trust your gut.’” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jan Eldredge

Author Bio: Jan Eldredge

Jan Eldredge was born and raised in Louisiana and is the author of Evangeline of the Bayou. She now lives in Florida with her husband, their children, and a house full of cats. When she’s not writing, she spends her time reading, going to theme parks, and exploring old cemeteries. She is particularly fascinated with monsters, magic, and all such eldritch things.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 6.95
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English