Fata Morgana

By Steven R. Boyett and Ken Mitchroney
Read by MacLeod Andrews

12.16 Hours 06/13/2017 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $22.95

    Special Price $18.36

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504750639

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504750646

  • $39.95

    ISBN: 9781504750615

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781504750622

  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $18.89

    ISBN: 9781504757447

  • Regular Price: $16.99

    Special Price $11.89

    ISBN: 9781538507537

At the height of the air war in Europe, Captain Joe Farley and the baseball-loving, wisecracking crew of the B-17 Flying Fortress Fata Morgana are in the middle of a harrowing bombing mission over eastern Germany when everything goes sideways. The bombs are still falling and flak is still exploding all around the 20-ton bomber as it is knocked like a bathtub duck into another world. Suddenly stranded with the final outcasts of a desolated world, Captain Farley navigates a maze of treachery and wonder—and finds a love seemingly decreed by fate—as his bomber becomes a pawn in a centuries-old conflict between remnants of advanced but decaying civilizations. Caught among these bitter enemies, a vast power that has brought them here for its own purposes, and a terrifying living weapon bent on their destruction, the crew must use every bit of their formidable inventiveness and courage to survive. Fata Morgana—the epic novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

An Audible.com bestseller

A June 2017 Library Journal Audio-in-Advance Pick

Finalist for the 2017 Foreword Reviews INDIES Book of the Year Award in Science Fiction

An io9 Pick of Summer Reads

At the height of the air war in Europe, Captain Joe Farley and the baseball-loving, wisecracking crew of the B-17 Flying Fortress Fata Morgana are in the middle of a harrowing bombing mission over eastern Germany when everything goes sideways. The bombs are still falling and flak is still exploding all around the 20-ton bomber as it is knocked like a bathtub duck into another world.

Suddenly stranded with the final outcasts of a desolated world, Captain Farley navigates a maze of treachery and wonder—and finds a love seemingly decreed by fate—as his bomber becomes a pawn in a centuries-old conflict between remnants of advanced but decaying civilizations. Caught among these bitter enemies, a vast power that has brought them here for its own purposes, and a terrifying living weapon bent on their destruction, the crew must use every bit of their formidable inventiveness and courage to survive.

Fata Morgana—the epic novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Action, adventure, cool speculative events, well-drawn characters, and an ending that sticks the landing: Fata Morgana pushes all my happy buttons.” John Scalzi, New York Times bestselling author
“Gripping adventure stuff: a perfect updating of a classic mode of science fictional storytelling, modernized without losing any of the charm of those old, glorious war novels.” Cory Doctorow, New York Times bestselling author
“With Fata Morgana, Steven Boyett and Ken Mitchroney have created a work that defies categorization, unless that category is ‘engrossing, brilliant storytelling.’ They breathe life into the past and the future, in a book that manages to be both thought-provoking and thrilling. I loved it!” Jan Burke, New York Times bestselling author
“The twists, turns, and adrenaline never stop flowing in Fata Morgana. You will be transported to another world in more ways than one. Easily one of the hardest-hitting science fiction books of 2017!” Nicholas Sansbury Smith, USA Today bestselling author of Hell Divers
“So gripping and real it felt as if it were logged just minutes after landing. Fata Morgana is squarely in the ranks of the most classic and ingenious science fiction—a masterwork of purest cinema, relentlessly charming and inventive to the end.” Chris Sanders, director of Lilo & Stitch and How to Train Your Dragon
“Amid harrowing yet realistic descriptions…readers are treated to a loving character study of the crew of the Fata Morgana, a B-17 bomber about to face its first combat mission…During a run over Zennhausen, the bomber passes through a strange portal in the air. Germany is gone; World War II is gone; the world as they know it is gone…Boyett and Mitchroney have the sense to forgo Hollywood predictability, so the ending’s perfect. A worthy adventure.” New York Times Book Review
“Authors Boyett and Mitchroney deliver a well-grounded, gripping action thriller, with a fast-moving plot and inviting, evocative characters…The authors deliver equal parts suspense, romance, danger, aerial combat, and science fiction. All of this makes Fata Morgana an exhilarating, haunting, and memorable read.” New York Journal of Books
“An epic and original science fiction novel of love and duty at war across the reach of time, Fata Morgana is an extraordinarily entertaining read from cover to cover and unreservedly recommended.” Midwest Book Review
“[Steven Boyett and Ken Mitchroney are] a match made in literary heaven.” East Bay Times
“A war story and a romance that spans space and time…The mix of SF, action, and romance is all there…There’s a lot to engage readers who enjoy their SF mixed with alternative history.” Library Journal
“Writer Boyett and film director Mitchroney team up for this fast-paced alternate-world tale that opens at the height of WWII…The prose is energetic, combining some of the gentler wit of Catch-22 with riffs on dystopian-fiction clichés. Boyett and Mitchroney elevate the pulpy vibe with unusual and fully developed protagonists…Fans of fun SF will enjoy this tale in the tradition of Forstchen and Morrison’s Crystal Warriors books and Taylor Anderson’s Destroyermen series.” Publishers Weekly
“Narrator MacLeod Andrews enhances this audiobook featuring a WWII bomber crew and the remnants of a decimated society…Andrews has the vocal chops to handle both the diverse group of airmen and the members of an advanced society who are struggling to survive. With a mix of accents, Andrews creates a distinctive and enjoyable cast of characters in this sci-fi thriller, which will make people think about the unintended consequences of war.” AudioFile
“This is a good mashup. The tech is advanced but not so far ahead that it is magic. The people in the future are used to living within strict limits, but they have lost the innovative spirit. The crew of the Fata Morgana has that spirit, and their influence will improve the survivor’s lives. Time is a fluid thing, but time spent reading Fata Morgana isn’t wasted.” SFRevu.com
“If you’re interested in WWII history or like vintage-type hard SF, it’s worth taking the flight with Captain Farley and his crew.” Fantasy Literature
“A rip-roaring adventure full of heart, duty, and sacrifice, Fata Morgana is a perfect combination of historical-novel authenticity and space-opera splendor. I couldn’t put it down, and the ending made me cry.” Brooke Johnson, author of the Chroniker City series
Fata Morgana is genre-bending, epic, and wholly original: an unexpected, fascinating page-turner.” Lee Kelly, author of A Criminal Magic and City of Savages
Fata Morgana is amazingly true to history, incredibly human, and expertly told.” Joe Zieja, author of Mechanical Failure
Fata Morgana is a classic WWII American Air Force drama juxtaposed with epic science fiction, and it works!…This was a great, jaw-dropping yarn, and one I would recommend to someone with a penchant for realistic WWII reenactments.” Spinning Jenny’s Book Blog

Reviews

Reviews

by Audio Audits 8/18/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

World War II Time Travel

Joe Farley is the captain of the World War II bomber Fata Morgana. While on a mission Joe and his crew are thrust centuries into the future. A terrifying future where the ruler leads with an iron fist and his daughter Wynda looks just like the girl painted on the nose of the Fata Morgana!

I loved this mashup of science fiction, time travel, and military thriller. Authors Steven R Boyett and Ken Mitchroney work together to weave a detailed, fascinating and horrifying story. Fata Morgana starts off at a nice slow pace, but once they land in the future it’s non-stop action all the way! I found the crew’s interaction with a future society so different from the one they came from interesting. I also enjoyed the banter between the tight-knit crew. It added a breath of levity at just the right moments. This audiobook ticks all the boxes no matter what genre you’re into including a little light romance.

MacLeod Andrews narrates this fully voiced production that comes in at just over 12 hours. He has so many voices in his arsenal and he voices them all well and it’s needed because there are many characters to keep straight and I never got lost or wondered who was talking. Mr. Andrews made it easy. The sound quality of this production was excellent. I look forward to hearing more from this narrator.

Author

Author Bio: Steven R. Boyett

Steven R. Boyett’s (steveboy.com) novels include the fantasy classic Ariel, The Architect of Sleep, Elegy Beach, and Mortality Bridge. He wrote a draft of Toy Story 2 for Pixar/Disney, and created the groundbreaking online music series Podrunner and Groovelectric. He has been a professional martial arts instructor, paper marbler, advertising copywriter, proofreader, writing teacher, website designer & editor, chapbook publisher, and DJ who has played in major cities and Burning Man. He lives in the San Francisco Bay area.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Ken Mitchroney

Ken Mitchroney’s (facebook.com/Ratfink) film and television credits include director, head of story, director of photography, and storyboard artist on Storks, The Lego Movie, The Ant Bully, Toy Story 2, Monsters Inc., The Annoying Orange Show, Mighty Magiswords, and more. His comic illustration includes Ren & Stimpy, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Myth Conceptions, and creating the influential Space Ark. He is an official artist for the Ed “Big Daddy” Roth estate, and official illustrator for the Oakland Athletics and at one time the Baltimore Orioles. Mitchroney has been a professional race-car driver and pinstriper, and restores and runs vintage locomotives. He is currently involved with the restoration of the Ward Kimball collection at the Southern California Railway Museum in Perris, California. He lives and works in the San Francisco Bay area and Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover, Paperback
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 12.16
Audience: Adult
Language: English