Fighting for Space by Amy Shira Teitel audiobook

Fighting for Space: Two Pilots and Their Historic Battle for Female Spaceflight

By Amy Shira Teitel
Read by Amy Shira Teitel

Grand Central Publishing 9781538716045
11.23 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549120992

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $35.00

    ISBN: 9781549121005

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube’s “Vintage Space” Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space. A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives’ Club, Fighting for Space is the mostly unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb—two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space, but along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars. Fighting for Space is a dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Spaceflight historian and creator of YouTube’s “Vintage Space” Amy Shira Teitel tells the riveting story of the female pilots who each dreamed of being the first American woman in space.

A book that will appeal to readers of Fly Girls and The Astronaut Wives’ Club, Fighting for Space is the mostly unknown tale of Jackie Cochran and Jerrie Cobb—two accomplished aviatrixes, one generation apart, who each dreamed of being the first woman in space, but along the way battled their egos, their expectations, and ultimately the patriarchal society that stood between them and the stars.

Fighting for Space is a dual biography of these fascinating and fearless women, using their stories as guides through the changing social, political, and technical landscape of the time.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This is a good treatment of the origins of the US space program.” Choice
“Teitel…illuminates the foundations of American spaceflight with this exceptional and detailed ‘prehistory’ of the field.” Publishers Weekly on Breaking the Chains of Gravity

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Amy Shira Teitel

Author Bio: Amy Shira Teitel

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 11.23
Audience: Adult
Language: English