Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley audiobook

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Read by Isabella Star LaBlanc

Macmillan Young Listeners 9781250766564
14.23 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $17.54

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781250779519

  • Regular Price: $57.99

    Special Price $43.49

    ISBN: 9781250779526

    Free shipping on orders over $35

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

A groundbreaking young-adult thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange. Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother. The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source. But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims. Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known. A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Amazon Editor’s Top Pick

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A Reese’s Book Club Pick

A Pop Sugar Pick of Best YA Books of the Month

A groundbreaking young-adult thriller about a Native teen who must root out the corruption in her community, for fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis Fontaine has never quite fit in, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. She dreams of a fresh start at college, but when family tragedy strikes, Daunis puts her future on hold to look after her fragile mother.

The only bright spot is meeting Jamie, the charming new recruit on her brother Levi’s hockey team. Yet even as Daunis falls for Jamie, she senses the dashing hockey star is hiding something. Everything comes to light when Daunis witnesses a shocking murder, thrusting her into an FBI investigation of a lethal new drug. Reluctantly, Daunis agrees to go undercover, drawing on her knowledge of chemistry and Ojibwe traditional medicine to track down the source.

But the search for truth is more complicated than Daunis imagined, exposing secrets and old scars. At the same time, she grows concerned with an investigation that seems more focused on punishing the offenders than protecting the victims. Now, as the deceptions—and deaths—keep growing, Daunis must learn what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she’ll go for her community, even if it tears apart the only world she’s ever known.

A Macmillan Audio production from Henry Holt and Company

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Thriller, romance, and action-adventure with multifaceted character development—this debut has it all. LaBlanc rises to the challenge, bringing listeners into the mind of this clever and courageous young woman…This audiobook should not be missed. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Angeline Boulley

Author Bio: Angeline Boulley

Angeline Boulley, an enrolled member of the Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians, is a storyteller who writes about her Ojibwe community in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. She is a former director of the Office of Indian Education at the US Department of Education. She lives in southwest Michigan, but her home will always be on Sugar Island. Firekeeper's Daughter is her debut novel.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 14.23
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English