Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh audiobook

Flame in the Mist

By Renée Ahdieh
Read by Nancy Wu

10.33 Hours 05/16/2017 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $27.50
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781524776305

  • $55.00

    ISBN: 9781524776299

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.   The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor's favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family's standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.      Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and track down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she's within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she's appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she's ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Read Brightly Pick of 13 Fractured Fairy Tales for Teens

A Publishers Weekly Pick of Best Books of the Summer

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn, comes a sweeping, action-packed YA adventure set against the backdrop of Feudal Japan where Mulan meets Throne of Glass.
 
The daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has long known her place—she may be an accomplished alchemist, whose cunning rivals that of her brother Kenshin, but because she is not a boy, her future has always been out of her hands. At just seventeen years old, Mariko is promised to Minamoto Raiden, the son of the emperor's favorite consort—a political marriage that will elevate her family's standing. But en route to the imperial city of Inako, Mariko narrowly escapes a bloody ambush by a dangerous gang of bandits known as the Black Clan, who she learns has been hired to kill her before she reaches the palace.
     Dressed as a peasant boy, Mariko sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and track down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she's within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she's appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she's ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

[A] fun feudal samurai drama. . . . an action-packed and well-paced young adult novel. Washington Post
Even in the long line of fictional females who pose as male to thwart patriarchal restrictions, Mariko stands out. . . . The novel’s surprising, tumultuous ending leaves the reader eagerly anticipating a sequel. Chicago Tribune
Romance, action and magic intertwine in this novel likely to keep readers enthralled. Deseret News
“Nancy Wu provides a dramatic characterization of a wealthy young woman who seizes an opportunity to be free of the constraints that feudal Japan imposes on women…Wu is comfortable with the story’s Japanese words and names. Her portrayal of Mariko is sensitive to her fears and insecurities…Against a backdrop of the strict social conventions of the period, Wu draws out the tension between appearances and reality.” AudioFile
Ahdieh’s first duology (begun with The Wrath and the Dawn, 2015) propelled her to the top of the charts, and this new series starter brings that same blend of history, magic, and sensuality that drew readers in the first place. Booklist 
This story . . . will undoubtedly enthrall readers. Kirkus Reviews 
“This story of female empowerment will resonate with girls today. This novel has something for every reader to savor: a budding romance, invention of new weaponry, and detailed battle scenes. School Library Connection
Rich in magical realism and cultural nuance of feudal Japan, Ahdieh’s series starter begins with a girl-power bang. . . . A wonderful choice for YA shelves, especially where lush fantasy is popular. School Library Journal
Filled with strong female characters, action and adventure, and beautiful storytelling, Flame in the Mist offers a world you'll want to escape into for a long while. BuzzFeed 
[With] Flame in the Mist, Ahdieh has gifted us a new series to obsess over. If you live for books that have lush worlds, swoony romance and non-stop action, you’ll want to read this. Paste Magazine
Set to marry the emperor’s son, Mariko is attacked by hired bandits en route to meet him. To uncover the truth behind the assassination attempt, Renée Ahdieh’s heroine must infiltrate the assailants’ gang —disguised as a man. US Weekly
The story is full of palace intrigue, disguises, magic, and Mariko’s search to find a place where she can be herself—not a bargaining chip, a daughter, a sister, or a prisoner. . . . Fans of Tamora Pierce and Kristin Cashore will enjoy this magical feudal tale. VOYA 
Lushly imagined and powerfully characterized, it’s a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance. Publishers Weekly 
★ “Renée Ahdieh's lush debut novel, The Wrath and the Dawn, is a suspenseful and beautiful reimagining of The Arabian Nights, with an edge. Shelf Awareness, starred review 
Don’t be surprised if the pages melt away and you find yourself racing through warm, golden sands or drinking spiced wine in cool marble courtyards. This is an intoxicating gem of a story. You will fall in love, just as I did. Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of the Legend series and The Young Elites
In her absorbing debut, Renée Ahdieh spins a tale as mesmerizing as that of her heroine Shahrzad, filled with lush details and brimming with tension. The Wrath and the Dawn is truly an exceptional story, beautifully written. Carrie Ryan, New York Times bestselling author of The Forest of Hands and Teeth
Fiery romance, a spirited heroine, shifting loyalties… With more than a few heartrending twists and turns. Booklist 
“[Ahdieh’s] prose remains lush and evocative, ideal for sand-swept landscapes and racing hearts. VOYA

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Renée Ahdieh

Author Bio: Renée Ahdieh

Renée Ahdieh is a graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. In her spare time, she likes to dance salsa and collect shoes. She is passionate about all kinds of curry, rescue dogs, and college basketball. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina, with her husband and their tiny overlord of a dog.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Action & Adventure
Runtime: 10.33
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English