Front Lines by Michael Grant audiobook

Front Lines

By Michael Grant
Read by Erin Mallon  and Thérèse Plummer

Katherine Tegen Books, HarperCollins 9780062342157

The Soldier Girl Series: Book 1

11.94 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $25.99

    Special Price $13.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062417275

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $23.99

    ISBN: 9781504694858

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines. World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany. Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war. These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Perfect for fans of The Book Thief and Code Name Verity, New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant unleashes an epic, genre-bending, and transformative new series that reimagines World War II with girl soldiers fighting on the front lines.

World War II, 1942. A court decision makes women subject to the draft and eligible for service. The unproven American army is going up against the greatest fighting force ever assembled, the armed forces of Nazi Germany.

Three girls sign up to fight. Rio Richlin, Frangie Marr, and Rainy Schulterman are average girls, girls with dreams and aspirations, at the start of their lives, at the start of their loves. Each has her own reasons for volunteering: Rio fights to honor her sister; Frangie needs money for her family; Rainy wants to kill Germans. For the first time they leave behind their homes and families—to go to war.

These three daring young women will play their parts in the war to defeat evil and save the human race. As the fate of the world hangs in the balance, they will discover the roles that define them on the front lines. They will fight the greatest war the world has ever known.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A magnificent alternate history that feels so real and right and true it seems impossible that it wasn’t.” Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author
“In this skillfully imagined alternate history…Grant pulls no punches about the sexism, racism, and violence his characters encounter. All of the protagonists are well-developed individuals, but also represent ‘every soldier girl’… This gripping and heart-wrenching tale…is particularly apropos considering the Armed Forces’ current reconsideration of the role of women in combat.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“A potent mix of action and thoughtfulness…Will leave readers dazed, disturbed, and utterly breathless.” Booklist (starred review)
“Though it is a lengthy tome, the story flies by and teens will stay engaged as they read the alternating women’s perspectives and stories…Grant does not sugarcoat the racism, anti-Semitism, and sexism that was so matter-of-fact in America at that time, so there is plenty of strong language. The main characters are all well-drawn, strong women, and the wartime events are well researched and accurate…The alternative history and wartime plot, which reads like a movie, will appeal to many. Verdict: A first purchase for every teen collection and an interesting series opener.” School Library Journal
“The experiences of female soldiers in the military are plainly and honestly depicted…an immersive, powerful tale.” Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“Three young women supply a gritty grunt’s-eye view of World War II…It’s the immersive, quotidian details that set up the gripping climax amid the chaos of combat…An engrossing portrayal of ordinary women in extraordinary circumstances.” Kirkus Reviews
“Fast paced, action packed…intense and compelling with a strong character-driven plot…The fast pace of this novel, along with its relatable characters and engaging plot, will easily draw in reluctant readers. Grant’s well-researched details of living conditions that WWII soldiers endured will appeal to fans of historical fiction.” VOYA
“This audiobook is immensely enjoyable as both narrators are so accomplished…This is a story of war, and neither narrator diminishes the violence or glamorizes it. When the characters are scared, they sound shaky. When they’re brave, they sound bold. They sound like real women, fighting for their lives.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michael Grant

Author Bio: Michael Grant

Michael Grant, author of the Gone series and the Magnificent Twelve series, has spent much of his life on the move. Raised in a military family, he attended ten schools in five states, as well as three in France. Even as an adult he kept moving and became a writer in part because it was one of the few jobs that wouldn’t tie him down. His fondest dream is to spend a year circumnavigating the globe and visiting every continent, even Antarctica.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/War & Military
Runtime: 11.94
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English