Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things by Simon Van Booy audiobook

Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

By Simon Van Booy
Read by Miriam Margolyes

Listening Library (Audio)
6.69 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780525493860

Award-winning author Simon Van Booy introduces readers to a magical, whimsical world, perfect for fans of Circus Mirandus and Serafina and the Black Cloak. When twelve-year-old Gertie Milk washes up on the island of Skuldark, she finds that all of her memories are gone. Home to helpful Slug Lamps, delicious moonberries, and a ferocious Guard Worm, the island is full of oddities, including a cozy cottage containing artifacts from every corner of history.   It is there that Gertie discovers she has been chosen as the next Keeper of Lost Things, tasked with the mission of returning objects to history’s most important figures right when they need them most. With the help of a time machine disguised as a vintage sports car and the guidance of her fellow Keeper, Kolt, Gertie dodges an elephant army in ancient Alexandria, crashes a 1920s flapper party, and battles a ruthless Zhou Dynasty king.   But soon, Gertie encounters an enemy that threatens everything the Keepers stand for: The Losers, villains who don't want to keep order but destroy it. Now, Gertie must uncover the truth of her own past if she wants to stop the Losers and set history back in place.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Award-winning author Simon Van Booy introduces readers to a magical, whimsical world, perfect for fans of Circus Mirandus and Serafina and the Black Cloak.

When twelve-year-old Gertie Milk washes up on the island of Skuldark, she finds that all of her memories are gone. Home to helpful Slug Lamps, delicious moonberries, and a ferocious Guard Worm, the island is full of oddities, including a cozy cottage containing artifacts from every corner of history.
 
It is there that Gertie discovers she has been chosen as the next Keeper of Lost Things, tasked with the mission of returning objects to history’s most important figures right when they need them most. With the help of a time machine disguised as a vintage sports car and the guidance of her fellow Keeper, Kolt, Gertie dodges an elephant army in ancient Alexandria, crashes a 1920s flapper party, and battles a ruthless Zhou Dynasty king.
 
But soon, Gertie encounters an enemy that threatens everything the Keepers stand for: The Losers, villains who don't want to keep order but destroy it. Now, Gertie must uncover the truth of her own past if she wants to stop the Losers and set history back in place.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Simon Van Booy

Author Bio: Simon Van Booy

Simon Van Booy was born in London and grew up in rural Wales and Oxford. After playing football in Kentucky for two years, he lived in Paris and Athens before earning an MFA in 2002. He is the editor of multiple philosophy books and his essays have appeared in the New York Times, New York Post, the Daily Telegraph, and the Guardian, as well as on NPR. He lives in New York City, where he teaches at the School of Visual Arts and Long Island University. He is also involved in the Rutgers Early College Humanities program for young adults living in underserved communities. He won the H.R. Hays Poetry Award, the Frank OConnor International Short Story Award, was a finalist for the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise, and his work has been translated into thirteen languages.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 6.69
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English