Grain of Truth by Stephen Yafa audiobook

Grain of Truth: The Real Case for and Against Wheat and Gluten

By Stephen Yafa
Read by Dana Hickox

Gildan Media, Gildan Audio 9781594632495
7.67 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781469063003

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $35.00

    ISBN: 9781469003917

  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781469003924

A Pollanesque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace? No topic in nutrition is more controversial than wheat. While megasellers like Grain Brain and Wheat Belly suggest that wheat may be the new asbestos, Stephen Yafa finds that it has been wrongly demonized. His revealing book sets the record straight, breaking down the botany of the wheat plant we’ve hijacked for our own use, the science of nutrition and digestion, the effects of mass production on our health, and questions about gluten and fiber—all to point us toward a better, richer diet. Wheat may be the most important food in human history, reaching from ancient times to General Mills. Yafa tours commercial factories where the needs of mass production trump the primacy of nutrition and reports on the artisan grain revolution. From a Woodstock-like kneading conference to nutrition labs to a boutique bakery and pasta maker’s workshop in Brooklyn, he also finds that there may in fact be a perfect source of wheat-based nutrition. Its name is sourdough. For readers of Salt Sugar Fat and The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Grain of Truth smoothly blends science, history, biology, economics, and nutrition to give us back our daily bread.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Discover Magazine Pick for What to Read in June 2015

A Pollanesque look at the truth about wheat: meal or menace?

No topic in nutrition is more controversial than wheat. While megasellers like Grain Brain and Wheat Belly suggest that wheat may be the new asbestos, Stephen Yafa finds that it has been wrongly demonized. His revealing book sets the record straight, breaking down the botany of the wheat plant we’ve hijacked for our own use, the science of nutrition and digestion, the effects of mass production on our health, and questions about gluten and fiber—all to point us toward a better, richer diet.

Wheat may be the most important food in human history, reaching from ancient times to General Mills. Yafa tours commercial factories where the needs of mass production trump the primacy of nutrition and reports on the artisan grain revolution. From a Woodstock-like kneading conference to nutrition labs to a boutique bakery and pasta maker’s workshop in Brooklyn, he also finds that there may in fact be a perfect source of wheat-based nutrition. Its name is sourdough.

For readers of Salt Sugar Fat and The Omnivore’s Dilemma, Grain of Truth smoothly blends science, history, biology, economics, and nutrition to give us back our daily bread.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Is there any other mainstream foodstuff so maligned as wheat…What’s worse, the actual science too often gets lost in the pop culture circus dominated by publicity-hungry hucksters and companies pushing gluten-free products full of chemical thickeners and starchy substitutions. Fortunately, Yafa is here to separate, uh, the wheat from the chaff, taking on everyone from anti-wheat advocates to geneticists and old-school artisan bakers. Yafa’s background as a novelist and playwright comes through in his lively pacing and witty asides, but it’s his commitment to cutting through the hype and hokum that makes Grain of Truth so compelling.” Discover
"[An] informative…critique of dietary and nutritional trends—notably, the gluten-free craze.” Publishers Weekly
“Well researched and accessible, this title is recommended for libraries where people look for Michael Pollan’s titles. Worth considering for any collection.” Library Journal
“Yafa debunks the claim by ‘the anti-gluten medical contingent’ that wheat is unhealthy…‘Nobody wants to hear that humans, not nature’s gluten all on its own, might be the source of the problem with wheat,’ writes the author….And he delivers on his claim to ‘tell a more balanced, less sensational story about wheat.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Stephen Yafa

Author Bio: Stephen Yafa

Stephen Yafa is the author of Grain of Truth and Cotton: The Biography of a Revolutionary Fiber. He is also a novelist, playwright, and award-winning screenwriter and has written for Playboy, Details, and Rolling Stone.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Health & Fitness
Runtime: 7.67
Audience: Adult
Language: English