Haints Stay by Colin Winnette audiobook

Haints Stay

By Colin Winnette
Read by Eric G. Dove

Brilliance Audio
5.94 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $14.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781543677843

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $25.99

    Special Price $16.89

    ISBN: 9781543677850

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people. The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they’ve been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West’s first one-armed gunslinger. Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt’s Meek’s Cutoff, and Jim Jarmusch’s Dead Man: meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Brooke and Sugar are killers. Bird is the boy who mysteriously woke beside them while between towns. For miles, there is only desert and wilderness, and along the fringes, people.

The story follows the middling bounty hunters after they’ve been chased from town, and Bird, each in pursuit of their own sense of belonging and justice. It features gunfights, cannibalism, barroom piano, a transgender birth, a wagon train, a stampede, and the tenuous rise of the West’s first one-armed gunslinger.

Haints Stay is a new acid western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt’s Meek’s Cutoff, and Jim Jarmusch’s Dead Man: meaning it is brutal, surreal, and possesses an unsettling humor.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“In his astonishing portrait of American violence, Haints Stay, Colin Winnette makes use of the Western genre to stunning effect. But this isn’t a chummy oater penned by the likes of Zane Grey or Louis L’Amour. Winnette’s frontier feels more Homeric. His knack for tapping into scenes of primal fear and poetic violence serves as an indictment of our species’ base nature and worst instincts. While the novel flouts most of the conventions of the traditional horse opera, the rewards of Haints Stay belong to the reader.” Los Angeles Times
“Striking and powerful…A Western as reimagined through the transgressive lens of Dennis Cooper. What Winnette does here is less about undermining the traditions of the Westerns and more about pushing them in unexpected directions.” Electric Literature
“The most anticipated independent novel of the summer.” Flavorwire
“Winnette’s already sharp prose is honed here to a razor edge. It rolls across the stark, lawless world he evokes like approaching thunder.” Midnight Breakfast

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Colin Winnette

Author Bio: Colin Winnette Colin Winnette is the author of five books, including the SPD-bestseller Coyote (Les Figues) and Haints Stay (Two Dollar Radio). He was the winner of Les Figues Press’ 2014 NOS Book Contest, as well as a finalist for Gulf Coast Magazine’s Donald Barthelme Prize for Short Prose and the Cleveland State University Poetry Center’s First Book Award. His writing has appeared in Lucky Peach, Los Angeles Review of Books, The Believer, The American Reader, and numerous other publications and anthologies. He worked as a bookseller for most of his adult life, in Texas, New York, Vermont, and California. He lives San Francisco. More information can be found online at www.ColinWinnette.net.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Westerns
Runtime: 5.94
Audience: Adult
Language: English