Ham: Slices of a Life by Sam Harris audiobook

Ham: Slices of a Life: Essays and Stories

By Sam Harris
Read by Sam Harris

Simon & Schuster Audio 9781476733418
9.15 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781442368149

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For fans of David Sedaris and Chelsea Handler, these stories andessays about friendship, celebrity, growing up, and getting sober will have youlaughing and crying in equal measure. With a wry style that evokes comparisons to Carrie Fisher, DavidRakoff, and Steve Martin, Sam Harris proves that he is a natural humorist. Eventhe New York Times, in a review of one of his musicalperformances, called his stories “New Yorker-worthy.” Brilliantly written, thesesixteen stories span Harris’ life from growing up gay in the buckle ofAmerica’s Bible belt to performing on Oprah’s first show after 9/11. In “IFeel, You Feel” he opens for Aretha Franklin during a blizzard. “Promises” is afront-row account of Liza Minnelli’s infamous wedding to “the man whose nameshall go unmentioned.” In the title story, “Ham,” he describes how he wasupstaged by a young child actor, unknowingly addicted to the spotlight. Taking on issues as diverseas addiction, fame, and parenting with his hilarious and deeply human voice,Harris’ entertaining tales trace an arc of personal triumph that is universallyaccessible and inspiring.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For fans of David Sedaris and Chelsea Handler, these stories andessays about friendship, celebrity, growing up, and getting sober will have youlaughing and crying in equal measure.

With a wry style that evokes comparisons to Carrie Fisher, DavidRakoff, and Steve Martin, Sam Harris proves that he is a natural humorist. Eventhe New York Times, in a review of one of his musicalperformances, called his stories “New Yorker-worthy.”

Brilliantly written, thesesixteen stories span Harris’ life from growing up gay in the buckle ofAmerica’s Bible belt to performing on Oprah’s first show after 9/11. In “IFeel, You Feel” he opens for Aretha Franklin during a blizzard. “Promises” is afront-row account of Liza Minnelli’s infamous wedding to “the man whose nameshall go unmentioned.” In the title story, “Ham,” he describes how he wasupstaged by a young child actor, unknowingly addicted to the spotlight.

Taking on issues as diverseas addiction, fame, and parenting with his hilarious and deeply human voice,Harris’ entertaining tales trace an arc of personal triumph that is universallyaccessible and inspiring.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A vividly crafted series of essays…A charmingly candid collection.” Publishers Weekly
“[Harris] has the writing chops to tell a good tale…Entertaining and occasionally moving tales from the wilds of showbiz.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Sam Harris

Author Bio: Sam Harris

Sam Harris’ diversified career has run the gamut from multimillion-selling singer and songwriter to Tony-nominated actor to writer, director, and producer. After winning over a weekly audience of more than twenty-five million viewers as the first winner of Star Search, Sam has toured extensively in concert. He resides in Los Angeles with his husband and their son.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Runtime: 9.15
Audience: Adult
Language: English