Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly audiobook

Hello, Universe

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Read by Ramón de Ocampo  and  Amielynn Abellera

5.30 Hours 03/14/2017 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062661654

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $29.99

    ISBN: 9781470859466

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781470859480

Winner of the Newbery Medal “A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” —Washington Post Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. “Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

AudioFile Earphones Award Winner

Winner of the 2018 Newbery Medal

Winner of the Newbery Medal

“A charming, intriguingly plotted novel.” —Washington Post

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly’s Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

Told from four intertwining points of view—two boys and two girls—the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). “Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits.”—Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren’t friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms.

The acclaimed author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

“Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.”—School Library Journal

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“De Ocampo perfectly captures Virgil’s painful timidity—and just as easily brings to life Lola, Virgil’s wise, sassy Filipino grandmother…Abellera’s portrayal of fearless Valencia is especially fine. Valencia happens to be deaf, and secretly lonely; Abellera nails her prickly but lively way of seeing the world. This especially engaging and sensitive production fully accesses the story’s keen perceptions on courage, fate, and friendship. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“[In this] charming, intriguingly plotted novel…Kelly builds suspense and fosters empathy for her characters.” Washington Post
“Infused with humor and hope, this book deftly conveys messages of resilience and self-acceptance through simple acts of everyday courage. Readers will be left inspired to tackle life’s fears head-on.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Told from several supremely well-crafted perspectives…The short chapters, compelling characters, and age-appropriate suspense will hook young readers immediately.…An original and resonant exploration of interconnectedness and friendship.” Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
“Plucky protagonists and a deftly woven story will appeal to anyone who has ever felt a bit lost in the universe…Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone—humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast.” Booklist (starred review)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Author Bio: Erin Entrada Kelly

Erin Entrada Kelly is the acclaimed author of several books, including Hello, Universe, which was awarded the Newbery Medal. Her debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was named a best book of the year by Kirkus Reviews and School Library Journal and was an Asian/Pacific American Honor Book. The Land of Forgotten Girls won the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and You Go First was a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and the Philippines Free Press Literary Award. She earned an MFA degree from Rosemont College. Her mother was the first in her family to emigrate from the Philippines to the United States.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.30
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English