Hot Mess by Emily Belden audiobook

Hot Mess

By Emily Belden
Read by Amanda Ronconi

Graydon House, Harlequin Audio 9781525811418
13.05 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $27.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488204180

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $44.99

    ISBN: 9781538510247

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538510254

Twentysomething Allie Simon is used to playing by the rules—until Chicago’s most sought-after, up-and-coming culinary genius, Benji Zane, walks into her world and pulls her into his. The only thing more renowned than Benji’s mouthwatering masterpieces and equally luscious good looks? His struggle with addiction and his reckless tendency to live life on the edge, no matter the havoc he wreaks along the way. But loving someone means supporting him no matter what, or so Allie tells herself. That’s why, when Benji’s offered the chance to light up foodie hot spot Randolph Street with a high-profile new restaurant, Allie takes the ultimate risk and invests her life savings in his dream. Then one day Benji disappears, relapsing to a place where Allie can’t reach him. Left with nothing but a massive withdrawal slip and a restaurant that absolutely must open in a matter of weeks, Allie finds herself thrust into a world of luxury and greed, cutthroat business and sensory delight. Lost in the mess of it all, she can either crumble completely or fight like hell for the life she wants and the love she deserves. With razor-sharp wit and searing insight, Emily Belden serves up a deliciously dishy look behind the kitchen doors of a hot foodie town, perfect for fans of Sweetbitter and The Devil Wears Prada.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Twentysomething Allie Simon is used to playing by the rules—until Chicago’s most sought-after, up-and-coming culinary genius, Benji Zane, walks into her world and pulls her into his. The only thing more renowned than Benji’s mouthwatering masterpieces and equally luscious good looks? His struggle with addiction and his reckless tendency to live life on the edge, no matter the havoc he wreaks along the way. But loving someone means supporting him no matter what, or so Allie tells herself. That’s why, when Benji’s offered the chance to light up foodie hot spot Randolph Street with a high-profile new restaurant, Allie takes the ultimate risk and invests her life savings in his dream.

Then one day Benji disappears, relapsing to a place where Allie can’t reach him. Left with nothing but a massive withdrawal slip and a restaurant that absolutely must open in a matter of weeks, Allie finds herself thrust into a world of luxury and greed, cutthroat business and sensory delight. Lost in the mess of it all, she can either crumble completely or fight like hell for the life she wants and the love she deserves.

With razor-sharp wit and searing insight, Emily Belden serves up a deliciously dishy look behind the kitchen doors of a hot foodie town, perfect for fans of Sweetbitter and The Devil Wears Prada.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An engrossing, slow-burn read that yields a very satisfying emotional payoff…Every aspect of this book feels real…Rich with perfect details, balanced between the various different relationships, and presented in a well-crafted narrative, this novel is meant to be savored.” RT Book Reviews (4½ stars, Top Pick!)
“Belden, whose memoir Eightysixed covers some of the same terrain, explores the business side of opening a restaurant. She rounds out the story with side dishes of love, regret, and glamour, creating characters who are as relatable as they are flawed. Belden’s excellent tell-it-like-it-is read is perfect for foodies and entrepreneurs alike.” Library Journal (starred review)
“Full of heart, heat, and passion, this restaurant rom-com in novel form is an exhilarating debut.” Booklist
“Emily Belden serves the decadence and drama a la mode in Hot Mess…A journey of sex, love, secrets, and the high-end culinary world. You’ll savor every word.” Abby Stern, author of According to a Source
“An edgy, irreverent snark-fest that ultimately morphs into a deep, emotionally satisfying story. Kudos to Emily Belden for this extraordinary memoir.” Chrissy Lessey, author of The Coven on Eightysixed

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Emily Belden

Author Bio: Emily Belden

Emily Belden is a journalist, social-media marketer, and storyteller. She is the author of the novels Hot Mess and Husband Material, and of Eightysixed: A Memoir about Unforgettable Men, Mistakes, and Meals.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 13.05
Audience: Adult
Language: English