How Not to Die Alone by Richard Roper audiobook

How Not to Die Alone: A Novel

By Richard Roper
Read by Simon Vance

Penguin Audio
8.87 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $20.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781984887573

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $40.00

    ISBN: 9781984887566

Smart, darkly funny, and life-affirming, How Not to Die Alone is the bighearted debut novel we all need, for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, it's a story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose. "Off-beat and winning...Gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name." --The Wall Street Journal All Andrew wants is to be normal. That's why his coworkers believe he has the perfect wife and two children waiting at home for him after a long day. But the truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think . . . and his little white lie is about to catch up with him. Because in all of Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's finally time for him to start. "Roper illuminates Andrew's interior life to reveal not what an odd duck he is, but what odd ducks we all are." --The New York Times Book Review

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A May 2019 LibraryReads Pick

Smart, darkly funny, and life-affirming, How Not to Die Alone is the bighearted debut novel we all need, for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, it's a story about love, loneliness, and the importance of taking a chance when we feel we have the most to lose. "Off-beat and winning...Gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name." --The Wall Street Journal All Andrew wants is to be normal. That's why his coworkers believe he has the perfect wife and two children waiting at home for him after a long day. But the truth is, his life isn't exactly as people think . . . and his little white lie is about to catch up with him. Because in all of Andrew's efforts to fit in, he's forgotten one important thing: how to really live. And maybe, it's finally time for him to start. "Roper illuminates Andrew's interior life to reveal not what an odd duck he is, but what odd ducks we all are." --The New York Times Book Review

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Quirky and heartfelt....Andrew's past traumas are revealed gradually, and the reasons behind his isolation are heartbreaking and poignant. A moving and funny look at grief, hope, and the power of human connections. Kirkus Reviews
Simultaneously heartwarming and heartbreaking, Roper’s endearing debut novel is a wonderful exploration of loneliness and the universal desire for connection. Darkly funny and uplifting, How Not to Die Alone will leave you wanting to seize the day as you cheer the protagonist on. Bianca Marais, author of Hum If You Don't Know the Words
Funny, moving and thought-provoking—I loved this. Clare Mackintosh, author of After the End
A lively blend of humor and earnest emotion....As Andrew slowly comes to grips with being his true self, without pretense, readers will root for him to find liberation and love. A wry, humorous story. Shelf Awareness
Tragic, sweet, and hopeful....This novel will appeal to fans of Gail Honeyman’s Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine. Booklist
Roper’s delightful debut is as funny as it is touching....This story of a neurotic, tenderhearted man struggling to learn how not to be alone is irresistible. Publishers Weekly
The pleasure in Roper’s winning, good-hearted tale is seeing this lonely sad sack cautiously rejoin the world. People Magazine
Darkly humorous. Entertainment Weekly“[A] winning debut novel....Roper illuminates Andrew’s interior life to reveal not what an odd duck he is, but what odd ducks we all are.
Just the kind of book I wanted to read in these times. Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful, Roper’s cast of quirky, vulnerable characters make for a truly warm and affecting debut. J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
Wryly funny and quirkily charming—perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine. Eleanor Brown, author of The Weird Sisters
Richard Roper uplifts the human spirit and shows us how to embrace life and hope in his wickedly witty debut. Phaedra Patrick, author of The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper “[An] off-beat and winning debut....How Not to Die Alone earns its pathos. Even more to its credit, it gives resiliency and the triumph of the human spirit a good name.
“[A] charming debut [and] enjoyable read, How Not to Die Alone tackles a painful subject with goodhearted characters it’s easy to root for. USA Today
“Charming, empathetic, witty, emotional, and hopeful…A truly warm and affecting debut.” J. Ryan Stradal, author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Richard Roper

Author Bio: Richard Roper

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Contemporary Women
Runtime: 8.87
Audience: Adult
Language: English