How to Be a Person in the World by Heather Havrilesky audiobook

How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life

By Heather Havrilesky
Read by Heather Havrilesky

Random House Audio
7.48 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.50
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780735206410

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller* For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career?  Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect.  How to Be a Person in the World is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller* For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career?  Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect.  How to Be a Person in the World is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone.” Booklist (starred review)
“True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation.” Publishers Weekly
Heather Havrilesky…gets down to the root of the matter in a blunt but effective way with a voice that radiates enthusiasm, sass, and practical wisdom. Her bursts of energetic swearing somehow add authenticity and urgency to her thoughtful responses…This capable advice columnist sounds like a trusted friend.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Heather Havrilesky

Author Bio: Heather Havrilesky

Heather Havrilesky grew up in Durham, North Carolina. After graduating from Duke University, she moved to San Francisco, where, in 1996, she cocreated the weekly column “Filler” with illustrator Terry Colon for Suck.com, one of the first daily sites on the Web. “Filler” ran for five years and was Suck.com’s most popular feature. In 2001, she created the Rabbit Blog. Her work has appeared in Spin, New York, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington PostBookForum, and on NPR’s All Things Considered. In 2003, she joined the staff of Salon.com as television critic. She lives with her family in Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Runtime: 7.48
Audience: Adult
Language: English