How to Be a Person in the World by Heather Havrilesky audiobook

How to Be a Person in the World: Ask Polly's Guide Through the Paradoxes of Modern Life

By Heather Havrilesky
Read by Heather Havrilesky

Random House Audio
7.48 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.50
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780735206410

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller* For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career?  Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect.  How to Be a Person in the World is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Editor’s Choice

*A New York Times Love and Relationships bestseller*

For readers of Cheryl Strayed and Anne Lamott, a
 collection of brand new, impassioned, and inspiring letters by the author of the beloved advice column Ask Polly, featured weekly on New York Magazine's The Cut

Should you quit your day job to follow your dreams? How do you rein in an overbearing mother? Will you ever stop dating wishy-washy, noncommittal guys? Should you put off having a baby for your career? 

Heather Havrilesky, the author of the weekly advice column Ask Polly, featured in New York magazine’s The Cut, is here to guide you through the “what if’s” and “I don’t knows” of modern life with the signature wisdom and tough love her readers have come to expect. 

How to Be a Person in the World
is a collection of never-before-published material along with a few fan favorites. Whether she’s responding to cheaters or loners, lovers or haters, the depressed or the down-and-out, Havrilesky writes with equal parts grace, humor, and compassion to remind you that even in your darkest moments you’re not alone.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

In moments of despair, Havrilesky's elegant writing and rock-solid judgment can change your entire outlook. Read How to Be a Person in the World for the advice, but stay for the pure magic that is her perceptiveness and prose. Paper Magazine
Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone. Booklist (Starred Review)  
Funny, frank advice for people searching for solutions to a myriad of relationship issues. Kirkus Review  
True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation. Publishers Weekly  
Saying that Havrilesky has a way with words is like saying Marilyn Monroe liked diamonds. Havrilesky doesn’t just write—she dances with the words, building empathetic responses that can’t be classified as just advice columns. They are more keen observations of human behavior. BookPage
[Havrilesky is] an alluringly wry cheerleader, an enthusiastic volunteer offering sports drinks as we struggle past during the half-marathon of life. Slate Book Review
Heather Havrilesky, who if there's any justice in this unforgiving universe should become the first person to win both a Nobel and Pulitzer Prize for an advice column Stuff Nation (New Zealand) 
Heather Havrilesky… is both the first and last person you'd seek out for guidance. On one hand, she'll shake you by the shoulders and tell you the truth. On the other, she's the friend rooting you on, cursing (creatively) all the way… Havrilesky abandons the prim and proper and instead delivers delightfully offbeat wisdom with a side of straight talk. NPR
She is not only an excellent writer and cultural critic, but the best possible agony aunt for people who don’t care for agony aunts.... And she has an exceptional ability to hit the nail on the head and fundamentally understand people. The Guardian
Heather Havrilesky’s advice leaves me laughing, nodding in recognition, pumping my fist with excitement, and furiously underlining passages to capture the wisdom that drops out of her mouth.... This is more than an advice book — it’s a life raft. Sarah Hepola, New York Times bestselling author of Blackout: Remembering the Things I Drank to Forget  
A large-hearted reminder that all of us are struggling, and none of us are alone. Kate Bolick, author of the national bestseller Spinster  
A genuinely humorous and compelling voice...Havrilesky's writerly energy and passion confirm that the exchange of best friend wisdom -- a domain that has always been considered 'female,' and therefore trivial -- can be elevated into art. Jessi Klein, New York Times Book Review
*Esquire Best Books of 2016* *Harper’s Bazaar Editors Favorite Books of 2016**PopSugar Best Books of 2016* *Nylon Best Books of 2016*
[Havrilesky] is part Buddha and part Amy Schumer: wise, whip-smart, and profanely funny. Entertainment Weekly
The best advice columnist of her generation Esquire
What I love so much about Heather Havrilesky and her new book is that, beside being her usual brilliant, hilarious, equally kick-ass and compassionate self, ‎she actually gives great advice. How to be a Person in the World will change your life, for the way better. Anne Lamott, New York Times bestselling author of Small Victories  
There’s something nourishing in every column… But sometimes she writes things that are like opening up the fridge and finding the universe inside. The Atlantic
The title of Heather Havrilesky's How to Be a Person in the World is almost too cute.... Like: do we really need a guide to that, and is that really what this is? But it turns out the answers are yes, actually, and yes. Chicago Tribune  
“Readers allergic to classic self-help will adore Havrilesky’s empowering, grounding, and utterly sincere message delivered in a lovingly unsparing, perfectly profane tone.” Booklist (starred review)
“True to its title, this collection touches on nearly every facet of living, and Havrilesky’s wit, intelligence, and candor set her apart as perhaps the best advice columnist currently in circulation.” Publishers Weekly
Heather Havrilesky…gets down to the root of the matter in a blunt but effective way with a voice that radiates enthusiasm, sass, and practical wisdom. Her bursts of energetic swearing somehow add authenticity and urgency to her thoughtful responses…This capable advice columnist sounds like a trusted friend.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Heather Havrilesky

Author Bio: Heather Havrilesky

Heather Havrilesky grew up in Durham, North Carolina. After graduating from Duke University, she moved to San Francisco, where, in 1996, she cocreated the weekly column “Filler” with illustrator Terry Colon for Suck.com, one of the first daily sites on the Web. “Filler” ran for five years and was Suck.com’s most popular feature. In 2001, she created the Rabbit Blog. Her work has appeared in Spin, New York, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington PostBookForum, and on NPR’s All Things Considered. In 2003, she joined the staff of Salon.com as television critic. She lives with her family in Los Angeles.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Runtime: 7.48
Audience: Adult
Language: English