How We Disappeared by Jing-Jing Lee audiobook

How We Disappeared

By Jing-Jing Lee
Read by Angela Lin  and Ryun Yu

Hanover Square Press, Harlequin Audio 9781335953759
11.80 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488206351

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982645687

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982645694

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child. In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her. In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen. Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Booklist Pick of Best Women's Books on Audio

A Library Journal Editor’s Pick of Emerging Star Debut Authors

A beautiful, stunningly ambitious novel set in World War II Singapore about a woman who survived the Japanese occupation and a man who thought he had lost everything—for fans of Pachinko and We Were the Lucky Ones

Singapore, 1942. As Japanese troops sweep down Malaysia and into Singapore, a village is ransacked, leaving only two survivors and one tiny child.

In a neighboring village, seventeen-year-old Wang Di is strapped into the back of a troop carrier and shipped off to a Japanese military brothel where she is forced into sexual slavery as a “comfort woman.” After sixty years of silence, what she saw and experienced still haunts her.

In the year 2000, twelve-year-old Kevin is sitting beside his ailing grandmother when he overhears a mumbled confession. He sets out to discover the truth, wherever it might lead, setting in motion a chain of events he never could have foreseen.

Weaving together two time lines and two very big secrets, this stunning debut opens a window on a little-known period of history, revealing the strength and bravery shown by numerous women in the face of terrible cruelty. Drawing in part on her family’s experiences, Jing-Jing Lee has crafted a profoundly moving, unforgettable novel about human resilience, the bonds of family and the courage it takes to confront the past.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A heartbreaking but hopeful story about memory, trauma, and ultimately love.” New York Times
“Narrator Angela Lin captures the tribulations and regrets of Wang Di…Lin’s evocative voice stirs up sympathy for this strong woman and the real-life women she is based on…Narrator Ryun Yu is the perfect complement as twelve-year-old Kevin…Fans of historical fiction will relish learning about this aspect of WWII through such an artistically performed audiobook.” AudioFile
“Exquisitely rendered…[Lee’s] sentences are as effortlessly freighted with historical fact, local lore, aromas, flavors, and speech rhythms as they are with poetic grace.” South China Morning Post
“Narrator Lin facilely manifests the many decades of Wang Di’s life, from hopeful youth through difficult trials and restorative relationships. Yu earnestly voices the interwoven contemporary quest of Wang Di’s grandson.” Booklist (starred audio review)
“A compelling story of generations haunted by war and the silence surrounding their suffering…[It] restores the dignity of the survivors and criticizes the misogyny that marked their lives.” Kirkus Reviews
“Shattering, tender, and absorbing…I’m reeling from its power—what an absolute triumph.” Fiona Mitchell, author of The Maid’s Room

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jing-Jing Lee

Author Bio: Jing-Jing Lee

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 11.80
Audience: Adult
Language: English