Hudson’s Kill by Paddy Hirsch audiobook

Hudson’s Kill: A Justice Flanagan Thriller

By Paddy Hirsch
Read by Euan Morton

Macmillan Audio 9780765399168

The Justice Flanagan Series: Book 2

11.33 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781250222473

  • $45.99

    ISBN: 9781250222480

"Narrator Euan Morton’s soft Irish brogue transports listeners to New York City in 1799."— AudioFile Magazine on The Devil's Half Mile Set in 1803 New York, Hudson's Kill is the riveting next historical thriller from NPR reporter and producer Paddy Hirsch, perfect for fans of The Alienist and Gangs of New York. New York in 1803 is rife with tension as the city expands, and whoever knows where the city will build can control it. And violence builds as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer. They each find their way to a shadowy community on the fringes of the growing city, where they uncover a craven political conspiracy bound up with a criminal enterprise that is stunning in its depravity. Justy and Kerry have to fight to save themselves and the city, and only then can they bring the girl’s killer to justice.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"Narrator Euan Morton’s soft Irish brogue transports listeners to New York City in 1799."— AudioFile Magazine on The Devil's Half Mile

Set in 1803 New York, Hudson's Kill is the riveting next historical thriller from NPR reporter and producer Paddy Hirsch, perfect for fans of The Alienist and Gangs of New York.

New York in 1803 is rife with tension as the city expands, and whoever knows where the city will build can control it. And violence builds as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other.

When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer. They each find their way to a shadowy community on the fringes of the growing city, where they uncover a craven political conspiracy bound up with a criminal enterprise that is stunning in its depravity.

Justy and Kerry have to fight to save themselves and the city, and only then can they bring the girl’s killer to justice.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Fast paced and often violently brutal, this tale should please thriller readers who enjoy a twist of history Booklist
A solid choice for historical fiction buffs and lovers of political plots. Library Journal
A tense, violent and atmospheric crime thriller set in 1799 when the white-collar criminals carried switchblades and human lives were traded like sacks of grain. Michael Robotham, award-winning author of Life or Death
Part thriller, part love story and part cautionary tale, this page-turner also carries intimations of the future.... Vivid [and] exciting. Mary Pat Kelly, Irish America
A thriller with strong, multifaceted heroes and villains, [and] tight plotting. I impatiently await the next adventure. Patrick Taylor, New York Times bestselling author of the Irish Country series
A superb historical whodunit. ... Effortlessly incorporates the political and economic background of the time. Publishers Weekly *starred review*

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Paddy Hirsch

Author Bio: Paddy Hirsch

Paddy Hirsch has worked in public radio at NPR and Marketplace. He came to journalism after serving as an officer in the British Royal Marines, and lives in Los Angeles. The author of the nonfiction book explaining economics, Man vs. Markets, and the fiction thriller The Devil’s Half Mile.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Thrillers
Runtime: 11.33
Audience: Adult
Language: English