Juliet's Nurse by Lois Leveen audiobook

Juliet's Nurse: A Novel

By Lois Leveen
Read by Nicola Barber

10.73 Hours 09/23/2014 Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781442376335

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet—told from the perspective of Juliet’s nurse.In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets—and the nurse’s deep personal grief—erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family. By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona—the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart. In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

An enthralling new telling of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet—told from the perspective of Juliet’s nurse.

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets—and the nurse’s deep personal grief—erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona—the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Lois Leveen’s richly detailed, fascinating novel offers a wholly original and intriguing take on one of Shakespeare’s most beloved plays through the imagined life of Juliet’s faithful nurse, whose secret loves and tragedies rival the young lovers’ own.” Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Lincoln’s Rival
“One of the most interesting and fresh novels of 2014… creative and innovative. William Shakespeare would be proud!” Examiner.com
“Lyrically affecting…this is a wonderfully fun story with unforgettable characters that breathes new life into one of literature’s masterpieces.” Historical Novel Review
“Intricate…impressive.” Library Journal
“Wet nurse Angelica takes center stage in Leveen’s second novel, which begins fourteen years before the fateful five days spanned by the drama…Leveen’s enthusiastic historical novel pushes the classic teenage romance aside to give greater weight to a mother’s love and losses.” Kirkus Reviews
“In Shakespeare’s play, all we know of the world’s most famous star-crossed lovers happens over a period of five days. Lois Leveen’s imaginative retelling covers all the years before—from the nurse’s point of view. Nicola Barber delights with her full-bodied, earthy performance of Angelica and her lusty husband, Pietro. When Angelica’s baby daughter dies in childbirth, Friar Lorenzo helps her become live-in wet nurse to the Cappaletta’s newborn girl. Angelica becomes irrationally devoted to Juliet, convinced that she’s truly her baby, switched at birth. Barber portrays aged Lord Cappaletta’s disappointment at not having a son and is convincing as Lady Cappaletta is driven to the edge of madness. She handles Elizabethan morés, beekeeping secrets, and hot-blooded teens engaged in an ancient feud with quicksilver vocal shifts. Wonderful listening. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lois Leveen

Author Bio: Lois Leveen

Lois Leveen is an award-winning author who dwells in the spaces where literature and history meet. Her work has appeared in numerous literary and scholarly journals, as well as the New York Times, the Los Angeles Review of Books, Chicago TribuneHuffington Post, Bitch magazine, the Wall Street Journal, the Atlantic, and on NPR. She gives talks about writing and history at universities, museums, and libraries around the country. She lives in Portland, Oregon, with two cats, one Canadian, and sixty thousand honeybees.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 10.73
Audience: Adult
Language: English