Last Summer at the Golden Hotel by Elyssa Friedland audiobook

Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

By Elyssa Friedland
Read by Julia Whelan

Penguin Audio
9.44 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $20.00

    Special Price $14.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780593346983

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick A Can’t-Miss Beach Read For Summer 2021 from The Skimm A Best Beach Read of 2021 from Bustle A Best Summer Read of 2021 from PopSugar A family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills—perfect for fans of Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel—from the acclaimed author of The Floating Feldmans. In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families – best friends and business partners – have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be – and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late? Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandal erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Good Morning America Selection

A Bustle Pick of Summer Beach Reads

A Pop Sugar Pick of Best Summer Books

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick A Can’t-Miss Beach Read For Summer 2021 from The Skimm A Best Beach Read of 2021 from Bustle A Best Summer Read of 2021 from PopSugar A family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills—perfect for fans of Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel—from the acclaimed author of The Floating Feldmans. In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families – best friends and business partners – have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be – and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late? Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandal erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Promises snark, sass, and sunshine-filled fun." Bustle
“Friedland brings laughs and nuance to the family foibles…Breezy and charming, this is great fun.” Publishers Weekly
“Readers not content with armchair immersion will want to book their Catskill getaway immediately.” Booklist
“Narrator Julia Whelan immerses listeners in the lives of three generations of the Goldman and Weingold families…Whelan keeps listeners fully engaged throughout shifts in point of view and time period…The inviting atmosphere of the Golden Hotel is illuminated through Whelan’s depictions of its welcoming staff, abundant meals, and enjoyable leisure activities. An entertaining summer listen for fans of family sagas.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Elyssa Friedland

Author Bio: Elyssa Friedland

Elyssa Friedland is the author of four novels. She has written for several publications, including Modern Bride, Your Prom, New York magazine, Columbia Journalism Review, and Yale Alumni Magazine.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 9.44
Audience: Adult
Language: English