Legendborn by Tracy Deonn audiobook

Legendborn

By Tracy Deonn
Read by Joniece Abbott-Pratt

Simon & Schuster Audio UK
18.91 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Not Available For Sale in us

    ISBN: 9781398501898

Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn’s New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead! SOME LEGACIES ARE MEANT TO BE BROKEN. After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity – until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus . . . A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so-called “Legendborn” that hunt the creatures down. A mysterious mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw. The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she’ll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight? Winner of the Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn’s New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead!

SOME LEGACIES ARE MEANT TO BE BROKEN.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity – until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus . . .

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so-called “Legendborn” that hunt the creatures down.

A mysterious mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts – and fails – to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur’s knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she’ll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down – or join the fight?

Winner of the Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Legendborn is a remarkable debut that should firmly place Tracy Deonn on every fantasy and contemporary YA reader's radar. Deft and insightful blending of Arthurian legend and Southern Black American history make for an engrossing tale of mystery, romance, and finding your place in the world? - an absolute must-read! Alyssa Cole
Legendborn is a thrilling and tense fantasy that weaves Arthurian adventure with southern Black culture into a story that had me shouting. It will hook readers from the very beginning and leave them breathless until the final, mind-blowing revelation Kwame Mbalia
[R]ich and explosive debut.
Legendborn establishes Deonn as an important new voice in YA.
Legendborn is about to be your new favorite book.
Deonn’s contemporary fantasy is a cultural gem that will connect readers with their roots in the most gut-punching, unapologetic of ways.
An intoxicating mix of Southern Black traditions, the King Arthur mythos and teenage melodrama.
explores themes of ancestral pain, grief and love, balancing them with stimulating world-building and multiple thrilling plot twists
 Legendborn is intoxicating, electrifying, and resonates with a deep understanding and vulnerable adoration of what it is to be a Black girl searching for the magic of herself. Tracy Deonn captivates you from page one with her perfect pacing, exhilarating plotting, and a command of storytelling that cannot be ignored. This book will hold everything you are hostage until, page by page, you discover how it has actually set you free. L. L. McKinney
Legendborn is an enthralling, standout modern fantasy about history and power, and Deonn is an author to watch. Kiersten White
Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Kiersten White, Tracy Deonn's unique reimagining of Arthurian legend is full of magic and heart. A brilliant debut! Ashley Poston
It takes a special talent to breathe fresh life into Arthurian legend, but Deonn does it with ease in this fast-paced tale
A promising series debut perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones and Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys. This book underscores the movement for more inclusive versions of traditional Western narratives, and will be a favourite of contemporary fantasy readers. Highly recommended
This is the fantasy novel for all once and future fans of suspense-filled storytelling 
A King Arthur reimagining that adds seats to the roundtable, inviting new readers to find themselves within its lore, Tracy Deonn’s Legendborn braids southern folk traditions and Black Girl Magic into a searing modern tale of grief, power and self-discovery. Dhonielle Clayton

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tracy Deonn

Author Bio: Tracy Deonn

Tracy Deonn is an author of the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe Award–winning of Legendborn. She grew up in central North Carolina and earned her bachelor’s and master’s degrees in communication and performance studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She worked in live theater, video-game production, and K–12 education. She speaks on panels at science fiction and fantasy conventions. She can be found on Twitter at @TracyDeonn and at TracyDeonn.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Fantasy
Runtime: 18.91
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English