Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner) by Michael Hebb audiobook

Let's Talk about Death (over Dinner): An Invitation and Guide to Life's Most Important Conversation

By Michael Hebb
Read by Michael Hebb

Da Capo Lifelong Books
6.67 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $24.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549141188

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death--and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner--an organization that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, "We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve." Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations--not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner- tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful--ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For readers of Being Mortal and When Breath Becomes Air, the acclaimed founder of Death over Dinner offers a practical, inspiring guide to life's most difficult yet important conversation

Of the many critical conversations we will all have throughout our lifetime, few are as important as the ones discussing death--and not just the practical considerations, such as DNRs and wills, but what we fear, what we hope, and how we want to be remembered. Yet few of these conversations are actually happening. Inspired by his experience with his own father and countless stories from others who regret not having these conversations, Michael Hebb cofounded Death Over Dinner--an organization that encourages people to pull up a chair, break bread, and really talk about the one thing we all have in common. Death Over Dinner has been one of the most effective end-of-life awareness campaigns to date; in just three years, it has provided the framework and inspiration for more than a hundred thousand dinners focused on having these end-of-life conversations. As Arianna Huffington said, "We are such a fast-food culture, I love the idea of making the dinner last for hours. These are the conversations that will help us to evolve."

Let's Talk About Death (over Dinner) offers keen practical advice on how to have these same conversations--not just at the dinner table, but anywhere. There's no one right way to talk about death, but Hebb shares time- and dinner- tested prompts to use as conversation starters, ranging from the spiritual to the practical, from analytical to downright funny and surprising. By transforming the most difficult conversations into an opportunity, they become celebratory and meaningful--ways that not only can change the way we die, but the way we live.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Explores just how crucial discussions of death are to living a happy, fulfilling life. It's packed with lessons on how we can approach those conversations purposefully and effectively. Thrive Global
A reader-friendly guide to the conversations most people avoid having...A vade mecum that will make one's reaping a bit less grim. Kirkus Reviews
Michael Hebb is a rare breed of artist and creative--he has a deep and powerful understanding of the human condition, connection, spirit...He crafts experiences using the age old arts of narrative and ritual, and approaches creative problems with a master's experience and a beginner's mind. Elliott Bisnow, Founder Summit Series, Summit Powder Mountain, Bisnow Media
Hebb aims to make death less taboo in all ways possible. The book ultimately offers practical advice on how to have conversations related to death, no matter the setting, yet manages to be amusing at times. This is a recommended read, to say the least. The Hype
Michael Hebb captivated the TEDMED audience. He's a natural storyteller: Authentic, vulnerable, and with the skill to draw an audience into an utterly unique and vibrant idea that has gathered international attention and acclaim. Shirley Bergin, CMO/COO TEDMED
Michael Hebb shows us how given the right framing, a 'difficult' conversation does not need to be difficult. It can be liberating. It can even be transformative. A book about death that is expansive and filled with hope, makes us more courageous, connected and honest, well, that is irresistible. Esther Perel, New York Times bestselling author of Mating in Captivity and The State of Affairs
Wise, poignant, compelling--Hebb tackles hard issues with honesty and good taste. This book is food for the soul. Ira Byock, MD, author of Dying Well and The Best Care Possible

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Michael Hebb

Author Bio: Michael Hebb

Michael Hebb is the founder of Convivium, a creative agency that specializes in the ability to shift culture through the use of thoughtful food and discourse-based gatherings. Convivium has worked closely with thought/cultural leaders and many foundations/institutions including: The World Economic Forum, Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, Clinton Global Initiative, X Prize Foundation, FEED Foundation, TED, TEDMED, Apple, United Nations Foundation and The Nature Conservancy.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Self-Help
Runtime: 6.67
Audience: Adult
Language: English