Like Family by Paula McLain audiobook

Like Family: Growing Up in Other People's Houses, a Memoir

By Paula McLain
Read by Wendy Tremont King

Tantor Audio 9780316400602
9.37 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781977379283

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s. As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next fourteen years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years—a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

This powerful and haunting memoir details the years Paula McLain and her two sisters spent as foster children after being abandoned by both parents in California in the early 1970s.

As wards of the State, the sisters spent the next fourteen years moving from foster home to foster home. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of one of the most compelling memoirs in recent years—a book in the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's The Boys of My Youth and Mary Karr's The Liars' Club.

McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A thoughtful recalling of the emotional toll a life of uncertainty can take.” Kirkus Reviews
“A portrait as riveting as it is sad…Never self-pitying, she nurtures her story as she wanted to be nurtured.” Library Journal

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Paula McLain

Author Bio: Paula McLain

Paula McLain is the author of several New York Times bestselling novels and a memoir and two collections of poetry. Her writing has appeared in the New York Times, Good Housekeeping, O: The Oprah Magazine, Town & Country, the London Guardian, and the Huffington Post.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 9.37
Audience: Adult
Language: English