Lily and Dunkin by Donna Gephart audiobook

Lily and Dunkin

By Donna Gephart
Read by Ryan Gesell  and Michael Crouch

Listening Library (Audio)
8.81 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.00
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9780451481955

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.   Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse.    One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.   *  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category *  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health *  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 *  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016  *  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 *  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016  *  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers *  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens *  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee *  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 *  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016  * Junior Library Guild Selection  * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award   * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book  * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus  "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred  “Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW    "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA   "Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A School Library Journal Best Book in Audio for 2016

"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole."  --VOYA

For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's, award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love.

Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you’re in the eighth grade.
 
Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he’s called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. 
 
One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change.  

*  2017 Southern Book Award Winner—Juvenile Category
*  Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health
*  NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016
*  Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 

*  New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016
*  Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 
*  Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal
* YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults
* YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers
*  ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens
*  Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee
*  Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018
*  Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017

* Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 
* Junior Library Guild Selection 
* Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's
* 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award  
* 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book 
* 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature

"Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion."--Kirkus 

"A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."--Booklist, starred 

“Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation…[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.”--PW 
 
"This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."--VOYA
 
"Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here’s a book for anyone who’s ever struggled with being different--or anyone who’s ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring.” —Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She’s Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Though in less skillful hands this might have turned into a problem novel, it is, instead, a thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention. Booklist starred review
“A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention.” Booklist (starred review)
“The conclusion is both satisfying and provocative, and the narration is excellent.” School Library Journal (audio review)
“Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community but to humanity as a whole.” VOYA
“With humor and great sensitivity…Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders…Strong, supportive women accept these teens as they are, while their fathers struggle mightily…It’s a valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning.” Publishers Weekly
“Gephart clearly has a lot of heart, and she tells their stories with compassion.” Kirkus Reviews
“Narrator Michael Crouch portrays thirteen-year-old Tim…In alternating chapters, Ryan Gesell portrays Dunkin…The dual narration helps the featured characters and their relationship sound more authentic and gives dimension to secondary characters.” AudioFile

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Donna Gephart

Author Bio: Donna Gephart

Donna Gephart’s award-winning novels are packed with humor and heart. They include Death by Toilet Paper; Olivia Bean, Trivia Queen; How to Survive Middle-School; and As If Being 12-3/4 Isn’t Bad Enough, My Mother Is Running for President! Donna is a popular speaker at schools, conferences, and book festivals.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 8.81
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English