Loki’s Wolves by Kelley Armstrong audiobook

Loki’s Wolves

By K. L. Armstrong and M. A. Marr
Read by Casey Holloway , Pat Young , and Jon Wierenga

Hachette Book Group

The Blackwell Pages: Book 1

7.76 Hours Unabridged
Format: CD (In Stock)
  • $34.98

    ISBN: 9781478952145

Matt Thorsen grew up in Blackwell, South Dakota knowing the stories his family had passed down: every Norse myth, every saga, every god like it was family history. Because the Thorsens are direct descendants of Thor. Like their ancestor, every Thorsen is charged with keeping order, especially in regard to the descendents of the trickster god, Loki. And quite a few of his descendents live in Blackwell, too, including Matt’s classmates: Fen and Laurie Brekke. For the most part, their lives aren't too different from those of normal kids, aside from a few minor powers. But everything changes when the rune readers tell of the impending Ragnarok—also known as the apocalypse. According to legend, in the time of Ragnarok, the gods must fight the monsters to stop the end of the world. But the gods are dead, leaving their human descendents to fight on their behalf. And Thor’s Champion is Matt. He has a little trouble with the “slay the giant serpent and save the world” idea, but he’s not the only one whose world will be turned upside down, because representatives of each of the major gods—kids, like Matt, Fen, and Laurie—have their roles to play in the final fight as well, and it’s up to Matt to find them and put together an unstoppable team against the end of the world. The Blackwell Pages series starts off with this action packed adventure that combines Norse myth, fantasy, an engaging web of characters, and real-world settings, such as Deadwood and Mt. Rushmore.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Matt Thorsen grew up in Blackwell, South Dakota knowing the stories his family had passed down: every Norse myth, every saga, every god like it was family history. Because the Thorsens are direct descendants of Thor. Like their ancestor, every Thorsen is charged with keeping order, especially in regard to the descendents of the trickster god, Loki. And quite a few of his descendents live in Blackwell, too, including Matt’s classmates: Fen and Laurie Brekke. For the most part, their lives aren't too different from those of normal kids, aside from a few minor powers. But everything changes when the rune readers tell of the impending Ragnarok—also known as the apocalypse. According to legend, in the time of Ragnarok, the gods must fight the monsters to stop the end of the world. But the gods are dead, leaving their human descendents to fight on their behalf.

And Thor’s Champion is Matt.

He has a little trouble with the “slay the giant serpent and save the world” idea, but he’s not the only one whose world will be turned upside down, because representatives of each of the major gods—kids, like Matt, Fen, and Laurie—have their roles to play in the final fight as well, and it’s up to Matt to find them and put together an unstoppable team against the end of the world. The Blackwell Pages series starts off with this action packed adventure that combines Norse myth, fantasy, an engaging web of characters, and real-world settings, such as Deadwood and Mt. Rushmore.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Norse mythology brought to life with engaging contemporary characters and future volumes that promise explosive action; ideal for Percy Jackson fans who want to branch out.” Kirkus Reviews
“Fierce adventure, lightening pace, furious action, and original, engaging characters. I was hooked from the first hammer swing.” Eoin Colfer, New York Times bestselling author of Artemis Fowl
“This rousing, fast-paced adventure, first in the Blackwell Pages trilogy, will please readers who loved John Stephens’ Books of Beginning and Rick Riordan’s modern-day twists on ancient myth.” Publishers Weekly
Loki’s Wolves has everything—a fast-paced, exciting plot, endearing and honest characters, Norse mythology with a contemporary twist, and plenty of heart. I can’t wait to find out what happens to Matt, Laurie, and Fen!” Ally Condie, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Matched
“Weaves mythological creatures among strong, smart characters, and readers will be entertained and delighted. Armstrong and Marr have written a fast-paced, exciting adventure.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Kelley Armstrong

Author Bio: Kelley Armstrong

Kelley Armstrong has been telling stories since before she could write. Her earliest written efforts were disastrous. If asked for a story about girls and dolls, hers would invariably feature undead girls and evil dolls, much to her teachers’ dismay. All efforts to make her produce “normal” stories failed. Today, she continues to spin tales of ghosts, demons, and werewolves, while safely locked away in her basement writing dungeon. She is the author of the Darkest Powers young adult urban fantasy trilogy, the Women of the Otherworld paranormal suspense series, and the Nadia Stafford crime series. She lives in southwestern Ontario, Canada, with her husband, kids, and far too many pets.

Titles by Author

See All

Author Bio: Melissa Marr

Author Bio: Melissa Marr

Melissa Marr grew up believing in faeries, ghosts, and various other creatures. After teaching college literature for a decade, she applied her fascination with folklore to writing. Wicked Lovely was her first novel. Currently, Marr lives in the Washington, DC, area, writes full-time, and still believes in faeries and ghosts.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.76
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English