Long Black Veil: A Novel

By Jennifer Finney Boylan

11.66 Hours 04/11/2017 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $22.50

    Special Price $20.25

    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781524722920

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2017 For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She's Not There On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia’s Eastern State Penitentiary, looking for a thrill. With a pianist, a painter and a teacher among them, the friends are full of potential. But it’s not long before they realize they are locked in—and not alone. When the friends get lost and separated, the terrifying night ends in tragedy, and the unexpected, far-reaching consequences reverberate through the survivors’ lives. As they go their separate ways, trying to move on, it becomes clear that their dark night in the prison has changed them all. Decades later, new evidence is found, and the dogged detective investigating the cold case charges one of them—celebrity chef Jon Casey— with murder. Only Casey’s old friend Judith Carrigan can testify to his innocence. But Judith is protecting long-held secrets of her own – secrets that, if brought to light, could destroy her career as a travel writer and tear her away from her fireman husband and teenage son. If she chooses to help Casey, she risks losing the life she has fought to build and the woman she has struggled to become. In any life that contains a “before” and an “after,” how is it possible to live one life, not two? Weaving deftly between 1980 and the present day, and told in an unforgettable voice, Long Black Veil is an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love. Readers will hail this as Boylan’s triumphant return to fiction.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

AudioFile Earphones Award Winner

Time Magazine Pick of the Month

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2017

For fans of Donna Tartt and Megan Abbott, a novel about a woman whose family and identity are threatened by the secrets of her past, from the New York Times bestselling author of She's Not There

On a warm August night in 1980, six college students sneak into the dilapidated ruins of Philadelphia’s Eastern State Penitentiary, looking for a thrill. With a pianist, a painter and a teacher among them, the friends are full of potential. But it’s not long before they realize they are locked in—and not alone. When the friends get lost and separated, the terrifying night ends in tragedy, and the unexpected, far-reaching consequences reverberate through the survivors’ lives. As they go their separate ways, trying to move on, it becomes clear that their dark night in the prison has changed them all. Decades later, new evidence is found, and the dogged detective investigating the cold case charges one of them—celebrity chef Jon Casey— with murder. Only Casey’s old friend Judith Carrigan can testify to his innocence.

But Judith is protecting long-held secrets of her own – secrets that, if brought to light, could destroy her career as a travel writer and tear her away from her fireman husband and teenage son. If she chooses to help Casey, she risks losing the life she has fought to build and the woman she has struggled to become. In any life that contains a “before” and an “after,” how is it possible to live one life, not two?

Weaving deftly between 1980 and the present day, and told in an unforgettable voice, Long Black Veil is an intensely atmospheric thriller that explores the meaning of identity, loyalty, and love. Readers will hail this as Boylan’s triumphant return to fiction.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Boylan performs her mystery novel, infusing each of the characters with his or her own rhythm, pace, and pitch. In doing so, she makes it easier for listeners to distinguish between the six main characters, their present worlds, and the flashbacks…Boylan is a deft storyteller who displays a range of talent worthy of a professional narrator…Listeners will hang on her every word to see who will protect the innocent. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Boylan’s atmospheric thriller Long Black Veil follows a travel writer tangled up in a cold case that has come back to haunt her decades later.” Time
“An existential whodunit about living with all your selves…To the author, the prison is more than a powerful setting, it’s also a powerful symbol for the closeted life she once led.” New York Times Book Review
“More than just an engrossing whodunit. It is a highly charged work of imagination and a thriller with fully formed characters, grappling with truth and identity.” National Book Review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jennifer Finney Boylan

Jennifer Finney Boylan is a professor of English at Colby College and the author of the bestseller She’s Not There, as well as several other acclaimed novels, including The Planets and Getting In. She has appeared on The Oprah Winfrey Show, Larry King Live, Today, and 48 Hours, and she has played herself on ABC’s All My Children.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 11.66
Audience: Adult
Language: English