Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever: A Great Baseball Player Tells the Hilarious Story behind the Legend

By Leroy “Satchel” Paige
As told to David Lipman
Read by Edward Lewis

6.83 Hours 01/01/1998 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $16.95

    Special Price $13.56

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455175109

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482107029

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441767035

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781441767042

Leroy “Satchel” Paige was forty-two years old when he became the first African American pitcher in the American League in 1948. Although he was the oldest rookie around, he had already become a legend. For twenty-two years, beginning in 1926, Paige dazzled fans with his performance in the Negro Major Leagues. He outlasted everyone by playing professional baseball, both in and out of the majors, until 1965. Struggle—against early poverty and racial discrimination—is an integral part of Paige’s story, as are his fast living and humorous point of view. His immortal advice—one of the most famous quotes in baseball—was, “Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.” Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever is Paige’s autobiography, as told to David Lipman.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Leroy “Satchel” Paige was forty-two years old when he became the first African American pitcher in the American League in 1948. Although he was the oldest rookie around, he had already become a legend. For twenty-two years, beginning in 1926, Paige dazzled fans with his performance in the Negro Major Leagues. He outlasted everyone by playing professional baseball, both in and out of the majors, until 1965. Struggle—against early poverty and racial discrimination—is an integral part of Paige’s story, as are his fast living and humorous point of view. His immortal advice—one of the most famous quotes in baseball—was, “Don’t look back. Something might be gaining on you.”

Maybe I’ll Pitch Forever is Paige’s autobiography, as told to David Lipman.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Not only was Satchel Paige an amazing athlete, he was one of the great American humorists in the tradition of Mark Twain, Will Rogers, and Yogi Berra. The most famous black player of his era shines through the pages of this remarkable autobiography.” John B. Holway, author, economics analyst and winner of the Bob Davids Award
“[Paige’s] breezy autobiography is colorful, spirited, conversational, and immodest.” Amazon.com, editorial review
“Lipman…has preserved the flavor and cadence of Paige’s conversation and writes his story honestly, avoiding neither the tragedies nor the escapades which mark his career.”  Booklist  

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Leroy “Satchel” Paige

Leroy “Satchel” Paige (1906–1982) was an American baseball player whose pitching in the Negro leagues and in Major League Baseball made him a legend in his own lifetime. He was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1971, the first player to be inducted from the Negro leagues.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Health & Fitness
Runtime: 6.83
Audience: Adult
Language: English