Midnight Blue: A Novel

By Simone van der Vlugt
Read by Imogen Church

8.82 Hours 06/26/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $26.99

    Special Price $21.59

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062880673

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781982528812

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781982528829

From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring. Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life. Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue. When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival fancy blue-on-white imported Chinese porcelain—and the graceful and coveted Delft Blue designs she creates help revolutionize the industry. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin must decide whether to defend her newfound independence, or return to the village that she'd fled.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

From Simone Van Der Vlugt comes her European bestselling novel of a young woman's rise as a painter in Holland's Golden Age—perfect for readers of The Miniaturist, Tulip Fever, and Girl with a Pearl Earring.

Amsterdam 1654: against the backdrop of Holland's Golden Age, a dangerous secret threatens to destroy a young widow's new life.

Following the sudden death of her husband, twenty-five-year old Catrin leaves her small village and takes a job as a housekeeper to the successful Van Nulandt merchant family. Amsterdam is a city at the peak of its powers: science and art are flourishing in the Golden Age and Dutch ships bring back exotic riches from the Far East. Madam Van Nulandt passes her time taking expensive painting lessons from a local master, Rembrandt van Rigin, and when Catrin takes up a brush to finish some of her mistress's work, Rembrandt realizes the maid has genuine talent, and encourages her to continue.

When a figure from her past threatens her new life, Catrin flees to the smaller city of Delft. There, her gift as a painter earns her a chance to earn a living painting pottery at a local workshop. Slowly, the workshop begins to develop a new type of pottery to rival fancy blue-on-white imported Chinese porcelain—and the graceful and coveted Delft Blue designs she creates help revolutionize the industry. But when tragedy strikes, Catrin must decide whether to defend her newfound independence, or return to the village that she'd fled.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A sensational narration by Imogen Church…Church expertly delivers the well-researched details of making Dutch porcelain. With impeccable characterizations and sublime Dutch accents, Church details a huge explosion in the Delft armory and the unforgiving ravages of the plague. She makes this audiobook completely believable. Winner of AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“Mid-seventeenth-century Holland is a wonderful place for lovers of historical fiction to visit, populated by great artists, intrepid explorers, and enterprising merchants.” Publishers Weekly
“The hustle and bustle of the Dutch Golden Age, with its commercial boom and artistic flowering, offers a vibrant framework for van der Vlugt’s tale of an independent woman attempting to balance past and future, practicality and emotion.” Booklist
“A beautiful story.” Nederlands Daily

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Simone van der Vlugt

Simone van der Vlugt is an acclaimed Dutch novelist, whose books have sold more than two million copies. Midnight Blue is her first novel to be published in the United States.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Historical
Runtime: 8.82
Audience: Adult
Language: English