Montana by Gwen Florio audiobook

Montana

By Gwen Florio
Read by Caroline Shaffer

Blackstone Publishing 9781579623364

The Lola Wicks Series: Book 1

8.77 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $9.98

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781482932447

  • Regular Price: $6.95

    Special Price $2.78

    ISBN: 9781482145151

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    ISBN: 9781482932478

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $17.97

    ISBN: 9781482932461

Foreigncorrespondent Lola Wicks is pissed off. Her editor, downsizing her from her Kabulposting, reassigns her to a stateside suburban beat formerly the province ofinterns. Meanwhile, arriving in Montana for some R&R at a friend’s cabin, she issurprised to find her friend nowhere in sight. Angerturns to terror when Lola discovers her friend shot dead. She can’t get out ofMontana fast enough but finds that she can’t leave, as she’s being held as apotential witness, thwarting her plan to return to Afghanistan on her own andhave her editors change their minds. Her best hope now lies in solving the caseherself. But this sure-footed journalist who deftly negotiated Afghanistan’sdeadly terrain finds herself frighteningly off balance in this forgotten cornerof her own country, plagued by tensions between the locals and citizens of thenearby Blackfeet Nation. Lola’slone-wolf style doesn’t work in a place where the harsh landscape and extremeisolation compel people to rely upon each other in ways she finds unsettling.In her awkward attempts at connection, she forms a reluctant alliance with alocal reporter, succumbs to the romantic attentions of a wealthy rancher, andfences warily with the state’s first Indian candidate for governor, the subjectof her friend’s final stories. Ultimatelyshe comes to truly care about the people she meets in Montana, only to miss thewarning signals that her own life is in danger. Whileunraveling her friend’s terrible fate, Lola joins many Americans in learningthe hard lessons of a fraught economy—that circumstances change in a flash,that formerly overlooked places and people can hold deep value, and that humanbonds matter more than fleeting career success.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2014 Shamus Award for Best First PI Novel

A 2014 International Thriller Writers Award Nominee for Best First Novel

Foreigncorrespondent Lola Wicks is pissed off. Her editor, downsizing her from her Kabulposting, reassigns her to a stateside suburban beat formerly the province ofinterns. Meanwhile, arriving in Montana for some R&R at a friend’s cabin, she issurprised to find her friend nowhere in sight.

Angerturns to terror when Lola discovers her friend shot dead. She can’t get out ofMontana fast enough but finds that she can’t leave, as she’s being held as apotential witness, thwarting her plan to return to Afghanistan on her own andhave her editors change their minds. Her best hope now lies in solving the caseherself. But this sure-footed journalist who deftly negotiated Afghanistan’sdeadly terrain finds herself frighteningly off balance in this forgotten cornerof her own country, plagued by tensions between the locals and citizens of thenearby Blackfeet Nation.

Lola’slone-wolf style doesn’t work in a place where the harsh landscape and extremeisolation compel people to rely upon each other in ways she finds unsettling.In her awkward attempts at connection, she forms a reluctant alliance with alocal reporter, succumbs to the romantic attentions of a wealthy rancher, andfences warily with the state’s first Indian candidate for governor, the subjectof her friend’s final stories.

Ultimatelyshe comes to truly care about the people she meets in Montana, only to miss thewarning signals that her own life is in danger.

Whileunraveling her friend’s terrible fate, Lola joins many Americans in learningthe hard lessons of a fraught economy—that circumstances change in a flash,that formerly overlooked places and people can hold deep value, and that humanbonds matter more than fleeting career success.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Outstanding…Quirky and cantankerous, Lola is grudgingly willing to learn from experience. Believable action complements razor-sharp observations of people and scenery.” Publishers Weekly (starred review)
“Breathless pacing, strong characterizations, and a nuanced plot blend into an unforgettable read. With its strong sense of place and an intriguing ethnic character mix, consider for fans of Lori Armstrong, C. J. Box, and Wayne Arthurson.” Library Journal (starred review)
“The sparsely populated Big Sky setting will be one of the major sources of appeal for readers of this gripping debut mystery.” Booklist
“Crammed with atmosphere and intriguing characters…Florio dips into her own background to make the protagonist competent and believable…The author does a great job of writing a book that’s both evocative of the Montana countryside and a satisfying, hair-raising ride. A promising debut.” Kirkus Reviews
“In Gwen Florio’s entertaining debut, war correspondent Lola Wicks finds the greatest threat to her safety is not dodging bullets in Afghanistan but discovering who killed her friend and fellow correspondent in Magpie, Montana. Florio knows her territory. She gives us wind on the high plains and the soft and velvety nose of a horse hungry for sugar. There’s fire in the hills, trouble in the governor’s race, and a county awash in drugs. Magpie’s the old West with daunting new problems, and the scrappy Lola Wicks takes them on.” Leonard Rosen, author of All Cry Chaos
“Lola is a layered and complex character—smart, resourceful, and driven, a woman coming to a deeper understanding of how war and ambition have both damaged her and made her stronger…With a deft hand and rich, evocative descriptions of the Montana landscape, Florio weaves an intricate mystery with subtlety and finesse.” Jaden Terrell, author of Racing the Devil
“Drawing on her experiences covering everything from the killing fields of Afghanistan, Iraq, and Somalia to home-grown American evil, Gwen Florio concocts a riveting tale of murder, hard times in a hard place, and the value of human bonds.” Howard Owen, author of Oregon Hill
“In her first novel, Gwen Florio demonstrates she’s a good storyteller, but it’s the irreverent, often cantankerous, indomitable protagonist Lola Wicks who will keep the reader turning pages to reach the exciting conclusion.” Connie Dial, author of Fallen Angels

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Gwen Florio

Author Bio: Gwen Florio

Gwen Florio is a veteran journalist who has covered stories ranging from the shootings at Columbine High School and the trial of Timothy McVeigh, the Oklahoma City bomber, to the glitz of the Miss America pageant and the more practical Miss Navajo contest. She has reported from Afghanistan, Iraq, and Somalia, as well as Lost Springs, Wyoming (population three). She has twice been nominated for the Pulitzer Prize; her short fiction, for the Pushcart.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 8.77
Audience: Adult
Language: English