Murder on Brittany Shores by Jean-Luc Bannalec audiobook

Murder on Brittany Shores

By Jean-Luc Bannalec
Translated by Sorcha McDonagh
Read by Jean Brassard

Blackstone Publishing 9781250071897

The Commissaire Dupin Series: Book 2

10.57 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504756136

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504756143

  • Regular Price: $34.95

    Special Price $22.72

    ISBN: 9781504756112

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $29.95

    Special Price $19.47

    ISBN: 9781504756129

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May three bodies wash up on the shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims comes to light, cantankerous Commissaire Dupin is pulled back into action for a case of what seems to be cold-blooded murder. Ever viewed as an outsider in a region full of myths and traditions, Dupin finds himself drawn once more deep into the history of the land. To get to the bottom of the case, Dupin must tangle with treasure hunters, militant marine biologists, and dangerous divers. The investigation leads him deep into the perilous, beautiful world of Brittany, as he discovers that there’s more to the picturesque islands than meets the eye. Steeped in the enchanting atmosphere of Brittany, peppered with wry humor, and full of delicious local food, this superbly plotted mystery is perfect for fans of Martin Walker and G. M. Malliet.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Ten miles off the coast of Brittany lie the fabled Glénan Islands. Boasting sparkling white sands and crystal clear waters, they seem perfectly idyllic, until one day in May three bodies wash up on the shore. At first glance the deaths appear accidental, but as the identities of the victims comes to light, cantankerous Commissaire Dupin is pulled back into action for a case of what seems to be cold-blooded murder.

Ever viewed as an outsider in a region full of myths and traditions, Dupin finds himself drawn once more deep into the history of the land. To get to the bottom of the case, Dupin must tangle with treasure hunters, militant marine biologists, and dangerous divers. The investigation leads him deep into the perilous, beautiful world of Brittany, as he discovers that there’s more to the picturesque islands than meets the eye.

Steeped in the enchanting atmosphere of Brittany, peppered with wry humor, and full of delicious local food, this superbly plotted mystery is perfect for fans of Martin Walker and G. M. Malliet.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Riveting…Commentary on such subjects as tourism, ecology, and commercial development enhance the complex plot, as do vivid descriptions of the terrain…The final twist leaves readers wondering how justice is best served.” Publishers Weekly
“Very satisfying…along the lines of Martin Walker’s novels set in Dordogne, or M. L. Longworth’s Aix-en-Provence mysteries.” Booklist
“A triple murder opens a new world to Commissaire Georges Dupin of the Concarneau police…Like his debut, the hero’s second adventure is judicious in parceling out attention to character, setting, and, most of all, plot.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

by Jan 11/27/2020
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Talk about due diligence!

thriller, suspense, international-crime-and-mystery, procedural, law-enforcement, maritime, Brittany France

Let's start with: I really enjoyed the book, I have no idea whether the translation was good or bad, and this is the audio (which saved me from feeble pronunciations) so I have been spared any typos.
The due diligence in this case is both well done and beyond the call. Out in the archipelago of Brittany the weather is surprising at the best of times, but when major storms roll in it is impossible (just like mobile or marine radio reception). The case begins with three corpses that have been in the water and progressed on to greed, fraud, and more. I loved it!
Jean Brassard is the narrator who not only sounds like he is Commissaire Dupin but does a great job with all of the characters.

Author

Author Bio: Jean-Luc Bannalec

Author Bio: Jean-Luc Bannalec

Jean-Luc Bannalec is a pseudonym. The author divides his time between Germany and coastal Brittany in northwestern France. Death in Brittany, the first case for Commissaire Dupin, was published in Germany in 2012, where it sold six hundred thousand copies, spending many months on the bestseller list. It has been sold in over a dozen countries.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.57
Audience: Adult
Language: English