Muted by Tami Charles audiobook

Muted

By Tami Charles
Read by Tami Charles

Scholastic Audio Books 9781338673524
5.71 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $27.99

    Special Price $14.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781338739183

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard. For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown. So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean "Mercury" Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights -- plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it. Until they're not. Denver begins to realize that she's trapped in Merc's world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken. Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl's dreams can be used against her -- and what it takes to fight back. This audio edition features for brand-new original songs all written, composed, and performed by author and narrator Tami Charles!

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

A Marie Claire Magazine Pick of 2021's Must-Reads

A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds!

Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.

For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.

So Denver is more than ready on the day she and her best friends Dali and Shak sing their way into the orbit of the biggest R&B star in the world, Sean "Mercury" Ellis. Merc gives them everything: parties, perks, wild nights -- plus hours and hours in the recording studio. Even the painful sacrifices and the lies the girls have to tell are all worth it.

Until they're not.

Denver begins to realize that she's trapped in Merc's world, struggling to hold on to her own voice. As the dream turns into a nightmare, she must make a choice: lose her big break, or get broken.

Inspired by true events, Muted is a fearless exploration of the dark side of the music industry, the business of exploitation, how a girl's dreams can be used against her -- and what it takes to fight back.

This audio edition features for brand-new original songs all written, composed, and performed by author and narrator Tami Charles!

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“This must-listen is narrated by the author, who drew from her own experience in an all-girl R&B group…This novel in verse is periodically interspersed with Denver’s original music, and listeners will be enraptured by Charles’s fluid performance of the poetry, her gorgeous voice, and her powerful songs. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.” AudioFile
“A taut and gritty read.” Booklist (starred review)
“Charles’s heartbreaking novel in verse shows the harsh realities of the music industry.” School Library Journal (starred review)
“Highly-anticipated…Groundbreaking.” Entertainment Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tami Charles

Author Bio: Tami Charles

Tami Charles is a former teacher and full-time author of picture books, middle grade, and young adult novels, and nonfiction. As a teacher, she made it her mission to introduce her students to all types of literature but especially diverse books. She is the author of the middle grade novels Like Vanessa, Definitely Daphne, and Becoming Beatriz, and more.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.71
Audience: Young Adult (12–17)
Language: English