My Oxford Year by Julia Whelan audiobook

My Oxford Year: A Novel

By Julia Whelan
Read by Julia Whelan

Avon Original, HarperAudio 9780062740649
9.96 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $26.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9780062843456

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538502211

  • $39.99

    ISBN: 9781538502204

Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill Entertainment Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future—perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks. American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day. When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret. Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Finalist for the 2018 Society of Voice Arts and Sciences Award for Best Narration by the Author

A Brit + Co Pick for Best Books of the Month

Major Motion Picture Already in Development with Temple Hill Entertainment

Set amidst the breathtaking beauty of Oxford, this sparkling debut novel tells the unforgettable story about a determined young woman eager to make her mark in the world and the handsome man who introduces her to an incredible love that will irrevocably alter her future—perfect for fans of JoJo Moyes and Nicholas Sparks.

American Ella Durran has had the same plan for her life since she was thirteen: Study at Oxford. At 24, she’s finally made it to England on a Rhodes Scholarship when she’s offered an unbelievable position in a rising political star’s presidential campaign. With the promise that she’ll work remotely and return to DC at the end of her Oxford year, she’s free to enjoy her Once in a Lifetime Experience. That is, until a smart-mouthed local who is too quick with his tongue and his car ruins her shirt and her first day.

When Ella discovers that her English literature course will be taught by none other than that same local, Jamie Davenport, she thinks for the first time that Oxford might not be all she’s envisioned. But a late-night drink reveals a connection she wasn’t anticipating finding and what begins as a casual fling soon develops into something much more when Ella learns Jamie has a life-changing secret.

Immediately, Ella is faced with a seemingly impossible decision: turn her back on the man she’s falling in love with to follow her political dreams or be there for him during a trial neither are truly prepared for. As the end of her year in Oxford rapidly approaches, Ella must decide if the dreams she’s always wanted are the same ones she’s now yearning for.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Narrator Julia Whelan performs her appealing debut novel as well as listeners would expect, which is to say, terrifically… Whelan has peopled her novel with Oxford’s famous cornucopia of characters. The personalities pop, her pacing is superb, and the realism she injects will keep you wide-eyed.” AudioFile
“Whelan has crafted a breathtakingly perfect picture of Oxford…a read bursting with warmth, mirth, and heart. A powerfully heartbreaking and life-affirming tribute to love and to choice—to choosing love and an open-hearted approach to the world.” Entertainment Weekly (Grade: A)
“Unfolds in charming Oxfordshire and reads even better when read through a pair of thick-rimmed glasses.” Vogue
“Full of humor and romance…I loved it!” Jill Shalvis, New York Times bestselling author
“A funny, tender, heartbreaking coming-of-age adventure.” Allison Winn Scotch, New York Times bestselling author
“Fans of One Day and Me Before You will…be charmed by this warm story and Ella and Jamie’s romance.” Publishers Weekly
“Actor, screenwriter, and award-winning audiobook narrator Whelan draws from her own Oxford experience, creating a richly rendered setting of not just the university’s spires but of the surrounding chip shops and grubby pubs that are just as vital. She ably captures a young woman finding her way when her carefully made plans come apart.” Booklist
“Whelan has created a beautiful, romantic story that focuses on big ideas—love, death, poetry, and what really matters in the end.” Kirkus Reviews
“A story that is as fun and charming as it is powerful and wise. Ella Durran is a breath of fresh air and her story will stay with you long after you’re done.” Taylor Jenkins Reid, author of The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Julia Whelan

Author Bio: Julia Whelan

Julia Whelan, winner of numerous Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and has also been a finalist for an Audie Award in other years. She was named one of AudioFile magazine’s Best Voices of 2010, and two of her audio narrations were shortlisted for the American Library Association’s notable recordings of 2010. Her narration of Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere earned a place in the first round of 2011 Grammy nominations for Best Spoken Word Album. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction/Romance
Runtime: 9.96
Audience: Adult
Language: English