My Sister's Keeper by Jodi Picoult audiobook

My Sister's Keeper: A Novel

By Jodi Picoult
Read by various narrators

Simon & Schuster Audio 9780743454537
13.69 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $23.99

    Special Price $12.00

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781508224280

  • Regular Price: $49.99

    Special Price $29.99

    ISBN: 9781508281658

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness. Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate—a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves. My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister's Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of the 2005 Alex Award

New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult is widely acclaimed for her keen insights into the hearts and minds of real people. Now she tells the emotionally riveting story of a family torn apart by conflicting needs and a passionate love that triumphs over human weakness.

Anna is not sick, but she might as well be. By age thirteen, she has undergone countless surgeries, transfusions, and shots so that her older sister, Kate, can somehow fight the leukemia that has plagued her since childhood. The product of preimplantation genetic diagnosis, Anna was conceived as a bone marrow match for Kate—a life and a role that she has never challenged...until now. Like most teenagers, Anna is beginning to question who she truly is. But unlike most teenagers, she has always been defined in terms of her sister—and so Anna makes a decision that for most would be unthinkable, a decision that will tear her family apart and have perhaps fatal consequences for the sister she loves.

My Sister's Keeper examines what it means to be a good parent, a good sister, a good person. Is it morally correct to do whatever it takes to save a child's life, even if that means infringing upon the rights of another? Is it worth trying to discover who you really are, if that quest makes you like yourself less? Should you follow your own heart, or let others lead you? Once again, in My Sister's Keeper, Jodi Picoult tackles a controversial real-life subject with grace, wisdom, and sensitivity.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A beautiful, heartbreaking, controversial, and honest book.” Booklist (starred review)
“Has the emotional tenacity to fuel tears and talk.” New York Daily News
“[A] thrill to read.” Washington Post
“[A] tense, high-concept piece of women’s fiction in the tradition of Anna Quindlen and Rosellen Brown.” Entertainment Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Jodi Picoult

Author Bio: Jodi Picoult

Jodi Picoult is the world-renowned #1 New York Times bestselling author of My Sister’s Keeper, Lone Wolf, Sing You Home, and many others. She studied creative writing at Princeton University and received her masters from Harvard. Picoult has won numerous awards for her work, most notably an Alex Award and a lifetime achievement award from the Romance Writers of America. She lives in Hanover, New Hampshire with her family.

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 13.69
Audience: Adult
Language: English