Myths to Live By by Joseph Campbell audiobook

Myths to Live By

By Joseph Campbell
Edited by David Kudler
Foreword by  Johnson E. Fairchild
Read by Malcolm Hillgartner

Brilliance Audio

The Collected Works of Joseph Campbell

10.74 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $14.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781543662566

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $19.99

    ISBN: 9781543662542

Discover Myth “There’s no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man’s panoramic past as few men have ever known it.” —The Village Voice Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: “a womb with a view.” In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our lives meaning. Love and war, science and religion, East and West, inner space and outer space—Campbell shows how the myths we live by can reconcile all of these pairs of opposites and bring a sense of the whole. This classic has been newly annotated in its first new edition since its original publication. In the tradition of The Power of Myth and Pathways to Bliss, Myths to Live By remains one of Joseph Campbell’s most enduring, popular, and accessible works.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Discover Myth
“There’s no one quite like Joseph Campbell. He knows the vast sweep of man’s panoramic past as few men have ever known it.” —The Village Voice

Joseph Campbell famously compared mythology to a kangaroo pouch for the human mind and spirit: “a womb with a view.” In Myths to Live By, he examines all of the ways in which myth supports and guides us, giving our lives meaning. Love and war, science and religion, East and West, inner space and outer space—Campbell shows how the myths we live by can reconcile all of these pairs of opposites and bring a sense of the whole.

This classic has been newly annotated in its first new edition since its original publication. In the tradition of The Power of Myth and Pathways to Bliss, Myths to Live By remains one of Joseph Campbell’s most enduring, popular, and accessible works.

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Joseph Campbell

Author Bio: Joseph Campbell

Joseph Campbell (1904-1987) was a prolific writer, dedicated editor, beloved teacher, inspiring lecturer, gifted storyteller, avid scholar, and a foremost interpreter of myth. Among the many books he wrote and edited, he is best known for The Hero with a Thousand Faces, his four-volume The Masks of God, and his magnum opus, Historical Atlas of World Mythology. In 1988, a series of television interviews with Bill Moyers, The Power of Myth, introduced his views to millions of people.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Nonfiction/Social Science
Runtime: 10.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English