Never Too Real by Carmen Rita audiobook

Never Too Real

By Carmen Rita
Read by Kyla Garcia

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing 9781496701305
10.02 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781504785181

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781504785198

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781504785167

In Carmen Rita’s savvy, scandalous, and wise new novel, four close friends who’ve earned the best of everything are forced to decide what they can afford to lose. Cat, Magda, Gabi, and Luz have helped each other up the ladder with unshakable encouragement—and raw honesty—since forever. But lately, trouble is throwing everything these formidable women thought they knew into doubt. When outspoken Cat’s high-flying television career crashes and burns, she’s got to figure out which dream she wants to keep alive the most—her own, or someone else’s. Gorgeous venture capitalist Magda defied her traditional family to make her own way—in her personal life and her career—but an unexpected crisis could finally shatter her chance to resolve the past. As a therapist, sensitive, supportive Gabi has all the answers. But when her own world falls apart, can she turn her compassion—and her trademark tough love—on herself? And proud, wealthy Luz thought she knew everything about her upper-class family background—until a revelation she never saw coming threatens to be the one legacy she can’t afford. Now all four women will have to face the truths that make them vulnerable and the failings that give them strength to discover who they really are—and what real happiness means.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In Carmen Rita’s savvy, scandalous, and wise new novel, four close friends who’ve earned the best of everything are forced to decide what they can afford to lose.

Cat, Magda, Gabi, and Luz have helped each other up the ladder with unshakable encouragement—and raw honesty—since forever. But lately, trouble is throwing everything these formidable women thought they knew into doubt.

When outspoken Cat’s high-flying television career crashes and burns, she’s got to figure out which dream she wants to keep alive the most—her own, or someone else’s.

Gorgeous venture capitalist Magda defied her traditional family to make her own way—in her personal life and her career—but an unexpected crisis could finally shatter her chance to resolve the past.

As a therapist, sensitive, supportive Gabi has all the answers. But when her own world falls apart, can she turn her compassion—and her trademark tough love—on herself?

And proud, wealthy Luz thought she knew everything about her upper-class family background—until a revelation she never saw coming threatens to be the one legacy she can’t afford.

Now all four women will have to face the truths that make them vulnerable and the failings that give them strength to discover who they really are—and what real happiness means.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The summer’s smartest sexy beach read.” Veronica Chambers, New York Times bestselling author
“A funny, witty, and beautiful novel…Rita’s debut novel leaves readers hoping for more fiction in the future.” RT Book Reviews (4 stars)
“Fans of workplace chick lit will find a lot to like in this first novel.” Library Journal
“This deliciously fun read is perfect for fans of Kimberla Lawson Roby or Jennifer Weiner.” Booklist
“Rita’s debut novel reads a bit like a multicultural edition of Sex and the City…Brimming with smart dialogue and ricocheting plot twists.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

by Kent 12/1/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Eyeopener

From a male point of view, this book by Carmen Rita is both an eye opener and at times truthful to the point of frustration. Whether male or female, however, there are very few dull moments, save for the rather distracting segments jumping about in the past and present during the early part of the story. Such goes the case of eliciting sympathy and admiration for the revelatory revealing of four women who have lost it all, feel they have to keep it to themselves, but eventually turn to one another for support and understanding. For anyone interested in getting a better understanding of the female psyche and the gender’s ability to exert strength and determination is addressing their problems, this listen will more than reward you.
by Odin 11/21/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Very rewarding

From a male point of view, this book by Carmen Rita is both an eye opener and at times truthful to the point of frustration. Whether male or female, however, there are very few dull moments, save for the rather distracting segments jumping about in the past and present during the early part of the story. Such goes the case of eliciting sympathy and admiration for the revelatory revealing of four women who have lost it all, feel they have to keep it to themselves, but eventually turn to one another for support and understanding. For anyone interested in getting a better understanding of the female psyche and the gender’s ability to exert strength and determination is addressing their problems, this listen will more than reward you.

Author

Author Bio: Carmen Rita

Author Bio: Carmen Rita

Carmen Rita is CEO and founder of a multimedia content company. A successful entrepreneur, she was one of the few Latinas on American television to host a daily national news program, CNBC’s On the Money. A guest of the White House as a member of President Obama’s Business Forward initiative, Rita was also a faculty professor at New York University and is the author of bestselling financial advice books, including The Real Cost of Living.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 10.02
Audience: Adult
Language: English