New Girl in Little Cove by Damhnait Monaghan audiobook

New Girl in Little Cove

By Damhnait Monaghan

Harlequin Audio, Graydon House 9781525811500
7.84 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $23.99
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781488211287

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • Regular Price: $34.99

    Special Price $22.74

    ISBN: 9781665068727

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

  • Regular Price: $39.99

    Special Price $25.99

    ISBN: 9781665068734

    In Stock ● Ships in 1-2 days

Full of warmth, humor, romance, and the quirkiest community of characters. Get ready to be charmed by this impossibly delightful debut, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips. After the local French teacher scandalizes the fishing village of Little Cove, Newfoundland, by running off with a priest, the school looks to the mainland to fill the job quickly. They want someone who can uphold their Catholic values and keep a motley group of largely unwilling students in line. The position is filled by mainlander Rachel O’Brien—technically a Catholic (baptized!), technically a teacher (honors degree!)—who’s desperate to leave her current mess of a life behind. She isn’t surprised that her students don’t see the value of learning French. But she is surprised that she can barely understand their English…Is it a compliment or insult to be called a sleeveen? (Insult.) And the anonymous notes left on her car, telling her to go home, certainly don’t help to make her feel welcome. Still, she is quickly drawn into the island’s traditional music and culture, and into the personal lives of her crusty but softhearted landlady, Lucille, her reluctant students, and her fellow teacher, Doug Bishop. But when her beliefs clash with church and community, she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far?

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Full of warmth, humor, romance, and the quirkiest community of characters. Get ready to be charmed by this impossibly delightful debut, perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

After the local French teacher scandalizes the fishing village of Little Cove, Newfoundland, by running off with a priest, the school looks to the mainland to fill the job quickly. They want someone who can uphold their Catholic values and keep a motley group of largely unwilling students in line.

The position is filled by mainlander Rachel O’Brien—technically a Catholic (baptized!), technically a teacher (honors degree!)—who’s desperate to leave her current mess of a life behind. She isn’t surprised that her students don’t see the value of learning French. But she is surprised that she can barely understand their English…Is it a compliment or insult to be called a sleeveen? (Insult.) And the anonymous notes left on her car, telling her to go home, certainly don’t help to make her feel welcome.

Still, she is quickly drawn into the island’s traditional music and culture, and into the personal lives of her crusty but softhearted landlady, Lucille, her reluctant students, and her fellow teacher, Doug Bishop. But when her beliefs clash with church and community, she makes a decision that throws her career into jeopardy. In trying to help a student, has she gone too far?

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“If you loved Come From Away, don’t miss this charming debut novel.” Kate Hilton, author of Better Luck Next Time
“A charming and funny novel about a ‘come from away’ teacher finding herself, finding love, and sometimes finding more than she bargained for, in a very special part of the world. A fine storyteller at work.” Terry Fallis, author of Albatross
“A charming, romantic, and often comic tale of falling in love with people and a place.” Edward Riche, author of Today I Learned It Was You

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Damhnait Monaghan

Author Bio: Damhnait Monaghan

Damhnait (pronounced “Downith”) Monaghan grew up in Ontario and Newfoundland. A former teacher and lawyer, she is an award-winning flash fiction writer with numerous publication credits. Her novella-in-flash, ‘The Neverlands,’ was voted Best Novella in the UK’s 2020 Saboteur Awards. She has also written creative nonfiction and short stories. Her short prose has won or placed in various writing competitions and been nominated for a Pushcart Prize, Best Small Fictions, and Best Microfictions. Lessons in Little Passage was a finalist for the 2019 Caledonia Novel Award. Her debut novel, New Girl in Little Cove, was inspired by the years she spent teaching in Newfoundland. Find her online: @Downith (Twitter) and learn more on her website: www.damhnaitmonaghan.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 7.84
Audience: Adult
Language: English