New York Station

By Lawrence Dudley
Read by Christopher Lane

10.57 Hours 01/23/2018 unabridged
Format: Digital Download (115Tracks) (In Stock)
  • Regular Price: $19.95

    Special Price $15.96

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781538424193

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781538424179

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781538424186

  • Regular Price: $27.99

    Special Price $19.59

    ISBN: 9781538469194

In August 1940—eighteen months before the bombing of Pearl Harbor—Anglo American MI6 agent Roy Hawkins is mysteriously rushed from Nazi-occupied Paris to New York. Enraged at being ordered away from what he believes is the real fight against Nazism and Fascism, he wants to get back to Paris as soon as possible, even though he knows it means almost certain death. In New York he is shocked and sickened to encounter a now-alien America increasingly dominated by right-wing extremists, including a new radio celebrity, Walter Ventnor. After a tense encounter with his friend and mentor William Stephenson, he agrees to temporarily pursue a Nazi commercial envoy, Hans Ludwig, and try and stop him from stealing American submarine warfare secrets. Hawkins follows Ludwig to the elite Saratoga racing meeting, where Ludwig is cultivating top American business leaders. There he meets the scion of an ancient and aristocratic New York family, Daisy van Schenck. After persuading Daisy to throw Ludwig out of the mansion he has rented, Hawkins finds himself increasingly attracted to her, and to the possibility of a different life. When Hawkins discovers a Nazi plot to rig the presidential election, he is forced to choose between duty and the woman he loves.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

In August 1940—eighteen months before the bombing of Pearl Harbor—Anglo American MI6 agent Roy Hawkins is mysteriously rushed from Nazi-occupied Paris to New York. Enraged at being ordered away from what he believes is the real fight against Nazism and Fascism, he wants to get back to Paris as soon as possible, even though he knows it means almost certain death.

In New York he is shocked and sickened to encounter a now-alien America increasingly dominated by right-wing extremists, including a new radio celebrity, Walter Ventnor. After a tense encounter with his friend and mentor William Stephenson, he agrees to temporarily pursue a Nazi commercial envoy, Hans Ludwig, and try and stop him from stealing American submarine warfare secrets.

Hawkins follows Ludwig to the elite Saratoga racing meeting, where Ludwig is cultivating top American business leaders. There he meets the scion of an ancient and aristocratic New York family, Daisy van Schenck. After persuading Daisy to throw Ludwig out of the mansion he has rented, Hawkins finds himself increasingly attracted to her, and to the possibility of a different life.

When Hawkins discovers a Nazi plot to rig the presidential election, he is forced to choose between duty and the woman he loves.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A fast-paced and thrilling read…The conspiracy theories explored by Agent Hawkins are even more exciting when viewed in the context of our own government tensions, adding an extra level of intrigue…Hawkins’ innermost feelings add tension and interest, playing well into the overall plot and inevitable surprise ending. A classic thriller full of twists and turns, New York Station is relevant and thought provoking.” Foreword Reviews
“A multifaceted protagonist who’s a refreshing change from formulaic genre leads lifts this gritty spy thriller from Dudley…Fans of Alan Furst and Joseph Kanon will find familiar pleasures.” Publishers Weekly
“This is a thrilling WWII spy adventure with a classic love-versus-duty story, robust characters, and a nice sense of time and place (the author makes sure we know we’re in America of 1940 without a lot of window dressing). A good, solid thriller.” Booklist
“A compelling World War II–era novel which very quickly leads the reader into a world of espionage, drama, and intrigue. New York Station has an authentic feel and the angle of Nazi sympathizers in the USA feels very timely. The story works its way to a strong ending, with a great twist at the very end.” Alex Gerlis, author of the bestselling The Best of Our Spies and other World War II espionage novels
New York Station is a World War II–era historical spy thriller with uncanny relevance to today’s real-life political intrigue, based on the true story of the Nazis’ attempt to intervene in the 1940 United States presidential election.” BookRiot

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Lawrence Dudley

Lawrence Dudley, a graduate of NYU, has had a variety of careers: assistant museum curator, radio telescope operator, and lead reviewer and feature writer for the Saratogian newspaper, covering the Saratoga Performing Arts Center and its resident companies, the New York City Ballet, New York City Opera, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and special events. Dudley is a media and advertising consultant, a web developer, and a professional political campaign manager.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD, MP3 CD, Hardcover
Category: Fiction/Thrillers/Suspense
Runtime: 10.57
Audience: Adult
Language: English