Night Fighter by William H. Hamilton audiobook

Night Fighter: An Insider’s Story of Special Ops from Korea to SEAL Team 6

By Captain William H. Hamilton, Jr., USN , and Charles W. Sasser
Read by Bill Thatcher

Blackstone Publishing 9781628726800
10.74 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Rental (In Stock)
  • $19.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781094139517

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781094139524

  • $34.95

    ISBN: 9781094139494

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781094139500

For readers of American Sniper, the stirring account of a life of service by the “father of the US Navy SEALs” One month after the Bay of Pigs fiasco, when President John F. Kennedy pressed Congress about America’s “urgent national needs,” he named expanding US special operations forces along with putting a man on the moon. Captain William Hamilton was the officer tasked with creating the finest unconventional warriors ever seen. Merging his own experience commanding Navy Underwater Demolition Teams with expertise from Army Special Forces and the CIA, and working with his subordinate, Roy Boehm, he cast the mold for sea-, air-, and land-dispatched night fighters capable of successfully completing any mission anywhere in the world. Initially, they were used as a counter to the potential devastation of nuclear war, and later for counterterrorism and hostage rescue. His vision led to the formation of the celebrated SEAL Team 6. In this stirring, action-filled book, Hamilton tells his story for the first time. Night Fighter is a trove of true adventure from the history of the late twentieth century, which Hamilton lived, from fighter pilot in the Korean War to operative for the CIA in Vietnam, Africa, Latin America, and Europe, from the Pentagon to Foggy Bottom, and from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the Reagan White House’s Star Wars. Like American Sniper, here is the record of a life devoted to patriotic service.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

For readers of American Sniper, the stirring account of a life of service by the “father of the US Navy SEALs”

One month after the Bay of Pigs fiasco, when President John F. Kennedy pressed Congress about America’s “urgent national needs,” he named expanding US special operations forces along with putting a man on the moon. Captain William Hamilton was the officer tasked with creating the finest unconventional warriors ever seen. Merging his own experience commanding Navy Underwater Demolition Teams with expertise from Army Special Forces and the CIA, and working with his subordinate, Roy Boehm, he cast the mold for sea-, air-, and land-dispatched night fighters capable of successfully completing any mission anywhere in the world. Initially, they were used as a counter to the potential devastation of nuclear war, and later for counterterrorism and hostage rescue. His vision led to the formation of the celebrated SEAL Team 6. In this stirring, action-filled book, Hamilton tells his story for the first time.

Night Fighter is a trove of true adventure from the history of the late twentieth century, which Hamilton lived, from fighter pilot in the Korean War to operative for the CIA in Vietnam, Africa, Latin America, and Europe, from the Pentagon to Foggy Bottom, and from the Cuban Missile Crisis to the Reagan White House’s Star Wars. Like American Sniper, here is the record of a life devoted to patriotic service.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“Without the commitment, passion, ingenuity, and ruthlessness of Hamilton and (Roy) Boehm, there would have been no SEAL teams as we know them.” John Weisman, coauthor of Richard Marcinko’s Rogue Warrior series and coauthor of Shadow Warrior
“A most revealing documentary account and living history of the Special Ops.” Chimp Robertson, author of POW/MIA: America’s Missing Men
Night Fighter is unique. It is a most revealing documentary account and living history of the Special Ops, and I know of no other book that offers so complete and objective a glimpse within the organization. By the end, you will know and feel what it was like to be a night fighter from Korea all the way to SEAL Team 6.” Chimp Robertson, author of POW/MIA: America’s Missing Men

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: William H. Hamilton Jr., USN

Author Bio: William H. Hamilton Jr., USN

William H. Hamilton Jr. graduated from the US Naval Academy in Annapolis in 1949 and served as a fighter pilot in the Korean War. Fascination with unconventional warfare led his involvement in underwater demolition teams. In 1961, he became the commander of UDT-21, in Little Creek, Virginia, where, with Roy Boehm as his operations officer, he was responsible for developing the Navy SEAL program. Hamilton subsequently conducted missions with SEALs and CIA in Cuba, Vietnam, Latin America, and Africa. After the Iran Hostage Crisis, he worked in counterterrorism, and was one of two men responsible for developing SEAL Team Six. He also advised the Reagan White House on the security of the Strategic Defense Initiative. Hamilton retired from the Navy in 1986. He resides with his wife in Virginia Beach, Virginia.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Charles W. Sasser

Author Bio: Charles W. Sasser

Charles W. Sasser, a veteran writer of military history and other books, was himself a member of the Special Forces and a Green Beret and is the bestselling author of One Shot One Kill and, with Roy Boehm, First SEAL. Many of his military titles have been main selections at the Military History Book Club. He resides in Chouteau, Oklahoma.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Nonfiction/Biography
Runtime: 10.74
Audience: Adult
Language: English