Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle by Brian Dennis audiobook

Nubs: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle: The True Story of a Mutt, a Marine & a Miracle

By Major Brian Dennis , Kirby Larson , and Mary Nethery
Read by Christian Rummel

Little, Brown Young Readers 9780316053181
0.33 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $17.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781600248719

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis's human "pack" until duty required the Marines to relocate a full 70 miles away--without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets. So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert, filled with danger tofind his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world. Nubs and Dennis will remind listeners that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times bestseller

A USA Today bestseller

Nubs, an Iraqi dog of war, never had a home or a person of his own. He was the leader of a pack of wild dogs living off the land and barely surviving. But Nubs's life changed when he met Marine Major Brian Dennis. The two formed a fast friendship, made stronger by Dennis's willingness to share his meals, offer a warm place to sleep, and give Nubs the kind of care and attention he had never received before. Nubs became part of Dennis's human "pack" until duty required the Marines to relocate a full 70 miles away--without him. Nubs had no way of knowing that Marines were not allowed to have pets.

So began an incredible journey that would take Nubs through a freezing desert, filled with danger tofind his friend and would lead Dennis on a mission that would touch the hearts of people all over the world.

Nubs and Dennis will remind listeners that friendship has the power to cross deserts, continents, and even species.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“An inspiring gift for anyone who believes in the power of a dog’s love.” Barnes & Noble, editorial review
“The moving story of the Marine major’s friendship with a wild dog he befriended at a border fort in Iraq…should appeal to fans of Owen and Mzee and other stories of animals that triumph against the odds.” Publishers Weekly
“A feel-good entry in the current trend of inspirational true animal stories.” School Library Journal
“One to warm your heart…this book tells a story of hope, of how an act of kindness is never forgotten. A great read-aloud.” Children’s Literature

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Major Brian Dennis

Author Bio: Major Brian Dennis

Brian Dennis is a major in the Marines. He and his dog Nubs live in San Diego.

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Mary Nethery

Author Bio: Mary Nethery

Titles by Author

Author Bio: Kirby Larson

Author Bio: Kirby Larson

Kirby Larson is an award-winning author of a number of books for children. Her book, Hattie Big Sky, won the 2007 Newbery Honor Award. A frequent speaker, she has shared her passion for research, reading, and writing at more than two hundred schools, workshops, and seminars in the United States and as far away as Qatar, Lebanon, and Guam.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Nonfiction
Runtime: 0.33
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English