One Second After

By William R. Forstchen
Foreword by Newt Gingrich
Afterword by William D. Sanders
Read by Joe Barrett

The One Second After Series: Book 1

13.30 Hours 03/17/2009 unabridged
Format:
  • Regular Price: $22.95

    Special Price $18.36

    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781455192007

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $6.95

    ISBN: 9781482171501

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781433256998

  • $29.95

    ISBN: 9781433257001

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages. Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A New York Times Bestseller

In a small North Carolina town, one man struggles to save his family after America loses a war that will send it back to the Dark Ages.

Already cited on the floor of Congress and discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a book all Americans should read, One Second After is the story of a war scenario that could become all too terrifyingly real. Based on a real weapon—the electromagnetic pulse (EMP)—which may already be in the hands of our enemies, it is a truly realistic look at the awesome power of a weapon that can destroy the entire United States, literally within one second.

In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future and our end.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“The only thing more terrifying than this masterfully crafted story is the possibility of it actually happening—and not a damn thing being done to protect us.” W.E.B. Griffin and William E. Butterworth IV, New York Times bestselling authors
“Civilization slides into the abyss of a new dark age in this horrifying apocalyptic novel.” Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author
“Forstchen’s work has flair and power.” Joel Rosenberg, New York Times bestselling author
“Good storytelling consists very simply of creating characters so believable that the reader forms a deep bond…Shortly after the first page, I had been reeled in hook, line, and, sinker.” David Hagberg, author of Dance with the Dragon
“[An] entertaining apocalyptic thriller…fans of such classics as Alas, Babylon and On the Beach will have a good time as Forstchen tackles the obvious and some not-so-obvious questions the apocalypse tends to raise.” Publishers Weekly
“What would happen in the U.S. in the event of an EMP (electromagnetic pulse) attack? The answer: Everything electronic—EVERYTHING—would be fried. That’s exactly what happens in this story, which centers on Colonel John Matherson, U.S. Army, retired, now a professor of history in Black Mountain, North Carolina. The character’s powers of ingenuity are challenged to the limit as they realize just how fragile the barrier between civilization and barbarism is. Joe Barrett’s baritone is steady and sometimes a bit gravelly, and his serious tone suits these events well. His vocal characterizations are not as good as his narrative, but they do not distract from the story overall.” AudioFile
“Forstchen’s well-crafted and compelling story…reminds us of how helpless we’d be without modern technology—a chilling thought, as EMP is a real threat to the industrialized world. Elegantly narrated by Joe Barrett; a haunting, essential listen.” Library Journal (audio review)
“Retired Army colonel and college teacher John Matherson’s stoic determination that his family survive the chaos is convincingly communicated through Barrett’s deep, brooding tones…Most compelling are his realistic enactments of Matherson’s deterioration from infection…A compelling, cautionary tale.” Booklist

Reviews

Reviews

by Tony1 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Wonderful Book!

This has been on my "to buy" list since it came out as an audio book. I read it as soon as it was published and truly loved it. It is one of my most popular books to loan. Forstchen does an outstanding job with the narrative about real people with real problems. Then he throws in a truly possible and realistic disaster - EMP. Great book.

What a steal for $5. Amazon can pound sand.

Still, I have not listened to it yet, but have enjoyed other books by Joe Barrett.
by Heather1 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Enjoyable story, though verges on a lecture

If an EMP were to be set off above a heavily populated first world country, what would be the impact. That is just the question that William R. Forstchen explores in his book One Second After.

I found the book to be very successful in conveying the dire sequence of events for human life, but it was low on the story telling aspect. It reads more like a text book manual of what to expect after an EMP. He pulls no punches and the truth is brutal. The death rates are astronomical. The plot line though is very light and could have been covered in a short story. A man, his children, his dogs and a limpid romance.

John Matherson, ex-military and a current history professor at the local college provides the narrative and onerous explanations of just about everything the reader needs to know. Mr. Forstchen appears to assume that his readers know very little and need to be spoon fed every detail. He almost lectures us at some points.

I like post-apocalyptic novels and I did enjoy this book for it's realism. It helped to add perspective to some of the more fantastical book I have read in this genre.

I listened to the audio book from Blackstone Audio as read by Joe Barrett. 13 hours 18 minutes. The reader was drab and un-enthusiastic. He did nothing to convince me this was a novel rather than an 8 am briefing I was forced to attend. If I had a paper copy, I would have skipped the preface by Newt Gingrich, a fictional work is not the place for a politician to be shovelling his agenda.

Is this fictional work accurate? I could find no notes/statement on Mr. Forstchen's site indicating his research nor sources for the disease and death rates. There is much on the actual EMP which plays a few minutes role in the story and then it's done. Researchers might find this an interesting read, but not scientifically significant. As for general fiction readers, It doesn't really matter, it's fiction and should be enjoyable for the story itself.
by D 9/13/2017
Overall Performance
Narration
Story

Fantastic!!

A great read, based around a situation that could occur - very very interesting and thought provoking

Author

Author Bio: William R. Forstchen

William R. Forstchen has a PhD from Purdue University with specializations in Military History and the History of Technology. He is a Faculty Fellow and Professor of History at Montreat College. He is the author of fifty books, including the New York Times bestselling John Matherson series, the Lost Regiment series, and the award-winning young adult novel We Look Like Men of War. He has also authored numerous short stories and articles about military history and military technology.

Titles by Author

See All

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental, CD, MP3 CD
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 13.30
Audience: Adult
Language: English