One Small Sacrifice by Hilary Davidson audiobook

One Small Sacrifice

By Hilary Davidson
Read by Joe Hempel , Lacy Laurel , Mark Turetsky , and Natalie Naudus

Brilliance Audio

The Shadows of New York Series: Book 1

9.79 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.99
    or 2 Credits

    ISBN: 9781721357550

  • $34.99

    ISBN: 9781721357536

“Davidson’s latest novel is her best work yet. One Small Sacrifice is a fast-paced winner. Highly recommended.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Harlan Coben “Twisty, absorbing, and deeply humane, it’s a thriller you won’t want to miss.” —New York Times bestselling author Megan Abbott NYPD detective Sheryn Sterling has had her eye on Alex Traynor ever since his friend Cori fell to her death under suspicious circumstances a year ago. Cori’s death was ruled a suicide, but Sheryn thinks Alex—a wartime photojournalist suffering from PTSD—got away with murder. When Alex’s fiancée, Emily, a talented and beloved local doctor, suddenly goes missing, Sheryn suspects that Alex is again at the center of a sticky case. Sheryn dislikes loose ends, and Cori’s death had way too many of them. But as Sheryn starts pulling at the threads in this web, her whole theory unravels. Everyone involved remembers the night Cori died differently—and the truth about her death could be the key to solving Emily’s disappearance.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A Crime Reads Pick of Most Anticipated Crime Novels of Summer

“Davidson’s latest novel is her best work yet. One Small Sacrifice is a fast-paced winner. Highly recommended.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Harlan Coben

“Twisty, absorbing, and deeply humane, it’s a thriller you won’t want to miss.” —New York Times bestselling author Megan Abbott

NYPD detective Sheryn Sterling has had her eye on Alex Traynor ever since his friend Cori fell to her death under suspicious circumstances a year ago. Cori’s death was ruled a suicide, but Sheryn thinks Alex—a wartime photojournalist suffering from PTSD—got away with murder.

When Alex’s fiancée, Emily, a talented and beloved local doctor, suddenly goes missing, Sheryn suspects that Alex is again at the center of a sticky case. Sheryn dislikes loose ends, and Cori’s death had way too many of them.

But as Sheryn starts pulling at the threads in this web, her whole theory unravels. Everyone involved remembers the night Cori died differently—and the truth about her death could be the key to solving Emily’s disappearance.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Davidson has crafted a tightly woven mystery. Each thread of the intricate plot draws you toward one surprising revelation after another. Sandra Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Tailspin
Hilary Davidson’s One Small Sacrifice is both a heart-pounding procedural and a rich, mesmerizing tale of the weight of trauma and the elusive nature of memory. Twisty, absorbing, and deeply humane, it’s a thriller you won’t want to miss. Megan Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of Give Me Your Hand
Davidson’s latest novel is her best work yet. One Small Sacrifice is a fast-paced winner. Highly recommended. Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Run Away
One Small Sacrifice is an intense page-turner with twists to the very end. Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine (5 stars)
Davidson’s plotting is tight and complex, a slow build of twists and reversals that keeps characters and readers guessing until the final pages. The resolution is well supported and natural, while simultaneously surprising. Quill & Quire
Packed with secrets, lies, and surprises, One Small Sacrifice kept me guessing to the very end. A gritty kaleidoscope of a thriller. Riley Sager, New York Times bestselling author of Final Girls
A taut, compelling narrative with a nerve-tingling climax. Davidson turns clichés of the contemporary novel on their heads to create a wholly believable cast of characters. I hope we’ll see more of Detective Sheryn Sterling. Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of Shell Game
I tore through this book! Hilary Davidson is at the top of her game with this masterful and twisty new novel that’s jam-packed with suspense. Filled with wonderfully diverse characters, breakneck pacing, and surprises at every turn, this modern mystery will thrill even the most old-school crime fiction lovers. This book satisfied me on so many levels. Jennifer Hillier, author of Jar of Hearts
One Small Sacrifice hooked me hard. Hilary Davidson has written a riveting and beautifully layered thriller that satisfies on every level. The characters surprise, the plot twists, and the pages turn themselves. Lou Berney, Edgar Award–winning author of November Road
Hilary Davidson is one of the best crime writers on the planet. This novel is a dazzling work by a master operating at the height of her abilities. Dark, twisty, and psychologically complex, One Small Sacrifice kept me guessing and gasping until the final page. I couldn’t put it down, even though I didn’t want it to end. Chris Holm, Anthony Award–winning author of The Killing Kind
One Small Sacrifice is a terrific thriller with a big heart. A smart, compelling examination of guilt, blame, and responsibility that will keep you turning the pages. Hilary Davidson is a rising star of suspense. Jeff Abbott, New York Times bestselling author of The Three Beths
Davidson’s stealthily plotted, rapidly deployed, multi-stranded mystery encompasses the most intimate of brutalities—including domestic abuse and post-battlefield PTSD, a solid handful of dodgy characters, and, in the most humane of touches, a dog named Sid. The Seattle Review of Books
This thriller, told from alternating points of view, will keep readers glued to their seats. National Examiner
Fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, and Lisa Gardner will devour this new police procedural, which boasts a strong female detective and an intriguing antagonist. Sheryn will draw in readers, and Davidson’s complex storytelling will keep them wanting more. Library Journal (starred review)
A Crime Reads Best Crime Novels of 2019 Notable Selection
"A fast-paced winner. Highly recommended.” Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author
A thoughtfully plotted and skillfully characterized procedural mystery…It’s easy to get drawn deeply into the various motives and secrets of each character because it’s so perfectly human for all of us to keep things hidden, even from those we love. Kirkus Reviews
[A] taut series launch…Davidson’s ability to maintain the suspense bodes well for future installments. Publishers Weekly
Told from multiple points of view, Davidson has crafted a compelling police procedural… Milwaukee Journal-Sentinel
One Small Sacrifice is a complex and engaging psychological thriller with fully realized characters. The plot throws light on the darker areas of human nature, of the fallibility of memory, and leaves the reader guessing until the very end. Authorlink
A thriller, of the filled-with-dread-but-I-have-to-finish-it variety. New York Journal of Books
The story line veers between alternate points of view…[while] perspectives on the same information provide different results. Writing the novel in this fashion amps up the suspense while also giving the narrative a complex and compelling flair. In addition, Davidson does an admirable job of making a complicated issue such as PTSD relatable. With an unpredictable ending and evidence that this is the start of a series, definitely check out One Small Sacrifice. Associated Press
“A tightly woven mystery. Each thread of the intricate plot draws you toward one surprising revelation after another.” Sandra Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author
“A complex, nuanced story that will also keep readers turning the pages breathlessly to the end.” Crime Reads
“A thoughtfully plotted and skillfully characterized procedural mystery…It’s easy to get drawn deeply into the various motives and secrets of each character because it’s so perfectly human for all of us to keep things hidden, even from those we love.” Kirkus Reviews

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Hilary Davidson

Author Bio: Hilary Davidson

Hilary Davidson is the author of the Anthony Award–winning Lily Moore novels and the hard-boiled thriller Blood Always Tells, as well as more than a dozen nonfiction books. Her acclaimed short stories have won numerous awards and have been featured in Ellery Queen, Thuglit, and other places, as well as in her collection The Black Widow Club.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 9.79
Audience: Adult
Language: English