Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance by Gyles Brandreth audiobook

Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance

By Gyles Brandreth
Read by Bill Wallis

Blackstone Publishing, Blackstone Publishing

The Oscar Wilde Murder Mysteries: Book 1

10.42 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $29.95
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781482981629

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $7.95

    ISBN: 9781482155631

London, 1889. Oscar Wilde, celebrated poet, wit, playwright, and raconteur is the literary sensation of his age. All Europe lies at his feet. Yet when he chances across the naked corpse of sixteen-year-old Billy Wood, posed by candlelight in a dark stifling attic room, he cannot ignore the brutal murder. With the help of fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle he sets out to solve the crime—but it is Wilde’s unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian life, from society drawing rooms to the underclass, that will prove the decisive factor in the investigation of what turns out to be a series of brutal killings. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance is a classic murder mystery in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Arthur Conan Doyle.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

London, 1889. Oscar Wilde, celebrated poet, wit, playwright, and raconteur is the literary sensation of his age. All Europe lies at his feet. Yet when he chances across the naked corpse of sixteen-year-old Billy Wood, posed by candlelight in a dark stifling attic room, he cannot ignore the brutal murder. With the help of fellow author Arthur Conan Doyle he sets out to solve the crime—but it is Wilde’s unparalleled access to all degrees of late Victorian life, from society drawing rooms to the underclass, that will prove the decisive factor in the investigation of what turns out to be a series of brutal killings. Oscar Wilde and a Death of No Importance is a classic murder mystery in the tradition of Dorothy L. Sayers and Arthur Conan Doyle.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A witty fin de siècle entertainment, and the rattlingly elegant dialogue is peppered with witticisms uttered by Wilde well before he ever thought of putting them into his plays.” Sunday Times (London)
“Genius…Wilde has sprung back to life in this thrilling and richly atmospheric new novel…Magnificent…an unforgettable shocker about sex and vice, love and death.” Sunday Express
“This excellent novel…I’d be staggered if, by the end of 2007, you’d read many better whodunits. Brandreth demonstrates supremely measured skill as a storyteller.” Nottingham Post
“A first-class stunner…[A] wow of a history-mystery…Fascinating.” Booklist (starred review)
“Oscar Wilde makes a stylish sleuth in this clever series debut.” Publishers Weekly
“Brandreth…spins a tale of human frailty and self-preservation…a promising start.” Library Journal
“Brandreth’s accomplishment is evident in the force of Wilde’s personality, which fairly leaps off the page…readers will delight in the effortless characterization and deft portrait of late-Victorian England.” Stephanie Barron, author of Jane and the Barque of Frailty

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Gyles Brandreth

Author Bio: Gyles Brandreth

Gyles Brandreth is a prominent BBC broadcaster, theater producer, novelist, and biographer. He has written bestselling biographies of Britain’s royal family and an acclaimed diary of his years as a Member of Parliament. He lives in London with his family.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, Digital Rental
Category: Fiction/Mystery & Detective
Runtime: 10.42
Audience: Adult
Language: English