Pie in the Sky by Remy Lai audiobook

Pie in the Sky

By Remy Lai

Listening Library (Audio) 9781250314093
5.83 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit
    Available on 12/17/2019

    ISBN: 9780593208427

A poignant, laugh-out-loud middle-grade novel--adapted for audio--about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang! Recipient of FIVE starred reviews! "Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." -Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao. To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama. Remy Lai's hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, with its pitch-perfect writing, makes for a scrumptious audiobook adaptation. It will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid. * "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." --School Library Journal, starred review

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

A poignant, laugh-out-loud middle-grade novel--adapted for audio--about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

Recipient of FIVE starred reviews!


"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." -Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he's landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn't speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

Remy Lai's hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, with its pitch-perfect writing, makes for a scrumptious audiobook adaptation. It will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.

* "The humor [is] akin to that of Jeff Kinney's popular 'Wimpy Kid' series . . . the perfect mixture of funny and emotionally resonant." --School Library Journal, starred review

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Remy Lai

Author Bio: Remy Lai

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Coming-of-Age
Runtime: 5.83
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English