Planet Earth Is Blue by Nicole Panteleakos audiobook

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Read by Dylan Moore

Listening Library
5.61 Hours 1
Format : Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781984884701

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish. Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home. While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish. Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home. While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nicole Panteleakos

Author Bio: Nicole Panteleakos

Nicole Panteleakos is a middle grade author, playwright, and Ravenclaw whose plays have been performed at numerous theatres and schools in Connecticut and New York City. She earned her BA in Theatre Scriptwriting from Eastern Connecticut State University and is currently working towards her MFA in Children’s Literature at Hollins University. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, and has three awesome godchildren, two quirky cats, and at least one Broadway song stuck in her head at all times. Planet Earth is Blue is her debut novel. Visit Nicole online at Twitter @NicWritesBooks, on Facebook (facebook.com/nicolepanteleakos) or her website, nicolepanteleakos.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.61
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English