Planet Earth Is Blue by Nicole Panteleakos audiobook

Planet Earth Is Blue

By Nicole Panteleakos
Read by Dylan Moore

Listening Library
5.61 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $18.00
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781984884701

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish. Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home. While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

"Tender and illuminating. A beautiful debut." --Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me A heartrending and hopeful debut novel about a nonverbal girl and her passion for space exploration, for fans of See You in the Cosmos, Mockingbird, and The Thing About Jellyfish. Twelve-year-old Nova is eagerly awaiting the launch of the space shuttle Challenger--it's the first time a teacher is going into space, and kids across America will watch the event on live TV in their classrooms. Nova and her big sister, Bridget, share a love of astronomy and the space program. They planned to watch the launch together. But Bridget has disappeared, and Nova is in a new foster home. While foster families and teachers dismiss Nova as severely autistic and nonverbal, Bridget understands how intelligent and special Nova is, and all that she can't express. As the liftoff draws closer, Nova's new foster family and teachers begin to see her potential, and for the first time, she is making friends without Bridget. But every day, she's counting down to the launch, and to the moment when she'll see Bridget again. Because Bridget said, "No matter what, I'll be there. I promise."

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Nova is a character you will never forget, who will break your heart and put it back together again in a new way. She felt so real. Gennifer Choldenko, author of the Newbery Honor Book Al Capone Does My Shirts and One-Third Nerd
A remarkable, sensitively told debut with a joyfully positive portrayal of neurodifference. Nova and her indomitable spirit will remain with you long after you close the book. Cindy Baldwin, author of Where the Watermelons Grow
As close to perfect as a story can get. It speaks to heartbreak and joy, pain and resilience, tragedy and humanity (both big and small) in a unique and utterly engaging ‘speechless’ voice that transcends all boundaries. Nora Raleigh Baskin, author of Anything but Typical and Nine, Ten: A September 11 Story
Nova’s story will wrap itself around your heart page after page after page. It’s like reading a hug. A beautiful debut! Ellie Terry, author of Forget Me Not
A powerful story about the extraordinary mind of a young girl with autism and the bond between sisters. Ann M. Martin, Newbery Honor–winning author of A Corner of the Universe and the Baby-sitters Club books
Tender and illuminating, Planet Earth is Blue is a beautiful debut novel about the strength of a girl who knows exactly who she is, even when others can’t see her. Rebecca Stead, Newbery-winning author of When You Reach Me
Pantleakos masterfully blends character and plot in this gorgeous, hopeful story. Booklist, Starred Review 
Bursting with worry, joy, empathy, humor, and even mischief, Nova is endearingly nuanced... Stellar. Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review 
An exceptional debut featuring a character everyone can root for. School Library Journal, Starred Review 
A New York Public Library Best Book of the Year

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Nicole Panteleakos

Author Bio: Nicole Panteleakos

Nicole Panteleakos is a middle grade author, playwright, and Ravenclaw whose plays have been performed at numerous theatres and schools in Connecticut and New York City. She earned her BA in Theatre Scriptwriting from Eastern Connecticut State University and is currently working towards her MFA in Children’s Literature at Hollins University. She lives in Brooklyn, NY, and has three awesome godchildren, two quirky cats, and at least one Broadway song stuck in her head at all times. Planet Earth is Blue is her debut novel. Visit Nicole online at Twitter @NicWritesBooks, on Facebook (facebook.com/nicolepanteleakos) or her website, nicolepanteleakos.com.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction
Runtime: 5.61
Audience: Children (8–12)
Language: English