Red Clocks by Leni Zumas audiobook

Red Clocks: A Novel

By Leni Zumas
Read by Karissa Vacker  and Erin Bennett

Little, Brown & Company, Hachette Book Group 9780316434812
9.10 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781478944072

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More
  • $35.00

    ISBN: 9781549116353

Five women. One question. What is a woman for? In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom. Ro, a single high school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known nineteenth-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt. Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid’s Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous—even frightening—times.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

New York Times Editor’s Choice

Elle Magazine Pick for best books of winter

Wall Street Journal Pick of best upcoming books

Esquire pick of most anticipated books

Pop Sugar Pick of most anticipated books for autumn

Publishers Weekly Pick of most anticipated books for fall

Ploughshares Pick of most anticipated books

Literary Hub Pick of the Week

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?

In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eivør, a little-known nineteenth-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro’s best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or “mender,” who brings all their fates together when she’s arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Red Clocks is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking The Handmaid’s Tale for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous—even frightening—times.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

“A cautionary work of far-sighted fiction…Spooky-good.” Elle
“Chillingly relevant.” People
“The story is set in a small Oregon town in a future that Mike Pence can almost see if he stands on his pew…This provocative exploration of female longing, frustration, and determination couldn’t be more timely, and yet there’s nothing fleeting about it. With Red Clocks, Zumas has written a novel that’s political without being doctrinaire, that expands the dimensions of our most pressing social debate.” Washington Post
“In language both poetic and political, Zumas presents characters who are strong and determined, each is an individual in her own right…Highly recommended.” Library Journal (starred review)
“With its strong point of view, the novel, in lesser hands, might have been reduced to agitprop, but Zumas has raised it, instead, to the level of literature, which readers will find deeply moving…The result is powerful and timely.” Booklist (starred review)
“Zumas manages a loose yet consistently engaging tone as she illustrates the extent to which the self-image of modern women is shaped by marriage, career, or motherhood. Dark humor further enhances the novel, making this a thoroughly affecting and memorable political parable.” Publishers Weekly

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Leni Zumas

Author Bio: Leni Zumas

Leni Zumas is the author of the story collection Farewell Navigator and the novels Red Clocks and The Listeners, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award. She is an associate professor in the MFA program in creative writing at Portland State University.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download, CD
Category: Fiction/Literary
Runtime: 9.10
Audience: Adult
Language: English