Rosewater by Tade Thompson audiobook

Rosewater

By Tade Thompson
Read by Bayo Gbadamosi

Orbit

The Wormwood Trilogy: Book 1

13.62 Hours Unabridged
Format: Digital Download (In Stock)
  • $25.98
    or 1 Credit

    ISBN: 9781549170904

    $12.99 With Membership: Learn More

Tade Thompson's Rosewater is the start of an award-winning, cutting edge trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices. Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless -- people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again -- but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.

Learn More
Membership Details
  • Only $12.99/month gets you 1 Credit/month
  • Cancel anytime
  • Hate a book? Then we do too, and we'll exchange it.
See how it works in 15 seconds

Summary

Summary

Winner of Arthur C. Clarke Award, 2019

Winner of Nommo Award, 2017

John W. Campbell Award, 2017

Among shortlisted titles for Google Play Favorite Book, 2017

Tade Thompson's Rosewater is the start of an award-winning, cutting edge trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction's most engaging new voices. Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless -- people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers. Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn't care to again -- but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future.

Editorial Reviews

Editorial Reviews

Original, entertaining, and food for thought. Tade Thompson is an exciting new voice in our field and I can't wait to read more of his work. Pat Cadigan
"Smart. Gripping. Fabulous! Ann Leckie
"One of the most thoughtful and inventive alien contact tales of recent decades. Locus
Thompson's genius in displacing his tale of successive xenobiological attacks from the West onto the developing world is matched by his breathtakingly smart prose.... Deeply engrossing. The Seattle Review of Books
A strange and unsettling story of psychics, conspiracy, and alien invasion unlike anything I've read before. Masterfully constructed, brimming with ideas and slowly unfolding mystery, Rosewater hurt my brain in the best of ways. Fonda Lee
Part thriller, part mystery and part phantasmagoric journey across a strange yet not-too-distant future, and reminiscent at times of both Roger Zelazny and Nnedi Okorafor, Rosewater is the hardboiled, Nigerian alien invasion story you always wanted. Lavie Tidhar
A masterclass in worldbuilding.... Rosewater is a brilliant read.... I've never read a sci-fi book like this, and I doubt I will again. The Fantasy Inn
A sharply satirical, ingenious thriller about an alien invasion that's disturbing familiar. Tade Thompson has built a fascinating world that will suck you in and keep you guessing. This book will eat you alive, and you'll like it. Annalee Newitz
A fiercely weird, breathtaking biopunk tale of alien invasion, Rosewater is ambitious and smart and very, very cool. Tasha Suri
Perfect for fans of William Gibson's Neuromancer, this twisty, captivating page-turner explores the fragility of the mind and how memory constructs identity. BookPage
Compellingly strange yet accessible... a character-driven, morally grey tale of hope and potential redemption. Publishers Weekly (starred review)
Quite simply one of best books I have read for quite some time. SFCrowsnest
A magnificent tour de force, skillfully written and full of original and disturbing ideas. Adrian Tchaikovsky
Crammed with ideas and told in precise, controlled prose, Thompson's debut soars. Set in Nigeria, it tells of a slow, insidious alien invasion from the viewpoint of a flawed protagonist with psychic powers. The plot is a mosaic of mysteries, shot through with neat Afrofuturist flourishes. Financial Times
As strange, vivid and intricate as the alien biosphere at its heart, Rosewater is a fabulous book and Tade Thompson is a writer of enormous heart and talent. Just brilliant. Dave Hutchinson
This thrilling, ambitious novel offers a deftly woven and incisive blend of science fiction, psychology, action, and mystery. Highly recommended. Kate Elliott
Inventive aliens and realistic-feeling invasion... keen observations of how easily people ignore and accept what should be terrifying... intriguing characters (many of them women) who have lives of their own beyond the pages... fascinating. Strange Horizons
"Inventive and creepy... revolutionary. Ozy
Mesmerising. There are echoes of Neuromancer and Arrival in here, but this astonishing debut is beholden to no one. M. R. Carey
Deeply imagined characters and vibrant, startling imagery... An author to watch. B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog
Intriguing Afrofuturistic tale [that] features an incredible mashup of alien contact and human-centered power, delivering a stark and gritty story that will keep readers engaged. Library Journal
Nothing short of brilliant.... A captivating, cerebral work of science fiction that may very well signal a new definitive voice in the genre. Kirkus
One of the most imaginative alien invasion scenarios I have come across. Aliette de Bodard, Nebula and BSFA award-winning author

Reviews

Reviews

Author

Author Bio: Tade Thompson

Author Bio: Tade Thompson Tade Thompson is the author of Rosewater, a John W. Campbell Award finalist and winner of the 2017 Nommo Awards for African speculative fiction. Born in London to Yoruba parents, he lives and works on the south coast of England as an emergency room psychiatrist.

Titles by Author

Details

Details

Available Formats : Digital Download
Category: Fiction/Science Fiction
Runtime: 13.62
Audience: Adult
Language: English